Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benjamin Franklin High School

Charter | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2005

Franklin is by far the best, offering a wide range of personalities, and backgrounds. Students encourage one another, and all students seek to learn from one another as much as from their teachers. Students form clubs and study groups, building teamwork and commradery. Franklin's challenging curriculum is not hard to handle if you manage your time right and put forth any effort. Teachers tend to be amazing, they want to be in school everyday and have a connection with students! The administration truly cares, and works with you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2005

I am a junior at Franklin. At this time I am unable to attend Franklin because of Hurricane Katrina. I am attending a Keller High and found that the curriculum is completely different. I regret complaing about how hard Franklin was. Franklin is a wonderful school. Yes, they are challenging, but it is to the benefit of the student. There are some teachers who are boring and cannot teach, but a majority of the teachers are wonderful and I feel better prepared with them teaching than teachers here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2005

I graduated from Benjamin Franklin High School in May of 2004. Despite what alot of people may think, the curriculum is extremely challenging, but it is also not overwhelming. There are people -including fellow students-there to help you with anything. The number one problem that I see is that people are embarrassed to get help with their studies because they think they are automatically supposed to 'get this stuff'. The truth is, most of the kids here get some kind of help or tutoring, especially from the Satarday Tutoring Program. There is phenomenal extracurricular participation, and kids can participate in anything that suits their interests. They can even petition to form their own clubs (as MANY have)! Contrary to popular belief, everyone 'fits in' here. You will never be without friends. Also, there is a BIG focus on college here, so be prepared to get into some of the BEST colleges in the country (including Harvard)!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 20, 2005

This is the best high school in New Orleans. Not only is it academically advanced, but it is a safe haven for children to be themselves. There are many extracurricular activities for students to explore, and parents are more than welcome to share in their children's learning.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 3, 2005

Academic program is rigorous yet acheivable. My daughter was fluent in french by the time she entered college, thanks to a Lyon, France native teacher and a connection with an overseas program through the high school as well. Other areas, math, science, excellent!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 16, 2004

I graduated from Franklin in 2000, and I count my blessings that I got to attend this school. I had a terrific experience. There's a good sense of community and school spirit. The school's not big, so after a few years you are at least familiar with everyone you are taking classes with. Most students were friendly and easy to get along with. Most, although not all, of the faculty are great teachers and convey sincere interest in the students. The curriculum was challenging enough to keep me interested but not overwhelming. The study habits the school fostered were of great use in college--many of my peers had not had to study in high school and were lost. I'm in law school, and I know my time at Franklin was instrumental in me getting here. Bottom line: if you have the opportunity to go to Franklin, jump at it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 12, 2004

Our son just completed 9th grade, so this review is limited to the Freshman year. His teachers ranged from truly outstanding to moderately boring, with the majority being interested in teaching and willing to work with him. The courses were rigorous, with a lot of memorization and challenging exams. If a student has a 'why do I have to learn all this junk' attitude, he will not fare well. But one with some self-motivation who enjoys the company of other bright (and often quirky) kids will find BFHS to be an oasis in the desert of New Orleans public school education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

We sent our child to this school expecting an exciting curriculum that would serve as a catalyst for student learning. Alas, we got a rather mediocre curriculum and very traditional. Our child was quite bored with this approach and did not fare well. In my opinion, the faculty are 'behind the curve' in terms of technology and current pedagogical practices. This was probably a great school 10-20 years ago, but it hasn't grown well into the 21st century. We saw no holistic approaches to learning and a very 'compartmentalized' school in all respects. I would not recommend it unless your child 'fits in well.' It is not a school that nutures or fosters individual thinking--it is quite elitist and uncaring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

I graduated from this school in the eighties, and it was a tough curriculum, but never so tough that I couldn't handle it. One advantage that I've had is that I get a lot of doors opened for me, simply because I graduated from Ben Franklin. The classes were small and everyone knew everybody, at least by sight if not by name. Many students had an elitist attitude, but more often than not, the students just wanted to learn and wouldn't tolerate other students interfering with their studies. It was a stressful environment, having to maintain a 'B' level GPA, but not un-do-able, and as long as the parents are supportive, a child shouldn't internalize that pressure. It is definitely not a school for the weak, but the timid can find themselves there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 26, 2004

I graduated from Franklin a few years ago. It was one of the most miserable times of my life. It is elitist, stifling, and only students with a particular learning style and personality are encouraged, while the others are practically berrated for not fitting within the 'norm.' How pathetic that Franklin is the best New Orleans has to offer!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 3, 2003

My daughter recently graduated from Ben Franklin in 2002 and she has greatly benefited from her studies there. The teachers were always willing to go out of their way to help students even beyond their time in the classroom. Highlights: challenging academics, inclusive sports, arts programs, advanced technology, clean, safe, and supportive environment, excellent parental envolvment, and a wonderful school to prepare your children for their futures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2003

I graduated from Ben Franklin in 1991 and I can say that my experiences there definitely prepared me for college. It was a wonderful school with excellent teachers who actually enjoyed what they were doing and it showed! Mr. Catalano inspired me to become a teacher as well. Hats off!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

173 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

173 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
95%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 47%
Black 30% 45%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 22% 1%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A67%
Male 41%N/A51%
Female 59%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • #1 School in the State of Louisiana (2008)
  • #16th Best School in the Nation - US News & World Report (2008)
  • #35 Best School - Newsweek (2008)

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Timothy Rusnak
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (504) 286-2642

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2001 Leon C Simon Drive
New Orleans, LA 70122
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 286-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lake Area High School
New Orleans, LA





Youth Study Center
New Orleans, LA


G.W. Carver High School
New Orleans, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT