Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alice Harte Elementary Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 648 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2011

The school is all about learning, but in a fun way. The only thing I didnt like about that school was that I complained daily about the way the lunch tatse. Everyone is friendly; your child will make a friend must likely on the first day. The teachers not only teach you math social studies. science, reading, writing, and langugage they also teach disapline and great manners.


Posted July 27, 2010

Over all the teachers are great. They really work towards student participation and being a community of learners. The new principal is a joke. You can never get a hold of him. If you need to speak with him you need to set half the day aside to sit in his office and wait for him to talk to you. He seems to have a lot of ideas but no way of making them a reality. nearly every middle school teacher quit on him this year, this says a lot. The middle school students need more consistency in their disciplining. They are really doing as they please which is very disruptive to the classroom. I would think twice before sending my student here for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

This is my child first year at Alice Harte, I enjoy her teacher, and I know she is getting want she needs. I hope things continue the way they are, and she will be there for the nest eight years. a parent whose child is in Mrs. Junot class
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

i think the school needs to improve with some of the students and teachers.me,a student does not think that the some teachers are not treating students as they are supposed to. i wish the school was the way it was before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Alice harte has room for improvement. The principal seems to change all too often. Mr Crowe would have made a very good leader for the students but it was not my decision to make. A school is only as good as its principal. Think about this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

i love alice harte i think it is a great school i'm glad after hurricane katrina alice harte excepted my child i want her to finish thier until 8 grade great shool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

My kids have attended Harte before Katrina.I have seen good staff leave parents take their kids out due to the unprofessionalism starting from the top.The principal is not in control of her school,numerous parents agree that I have spoken to.Her assistant principal is in control and she is a major part of the on going problems at the school,you have a few good teachers that are outstandind and keep the school a float.That is why my kids still attend. I am considering taking my kids out for 2009.The office staff needs to be cleaned out.And our principal should take control of the school .The school has gone down since Katrina.It was never the way it is now,people bought homes in the area just for Harte it was required to live in the area for your kids to attend,in 2005.Well to sum it up,Id like to be
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

Alice Harte has afforded a great educational oportunity for my son. Prior to the storm my son and daughter was in a school slated for take over by the State. My son was reading below level, and failed the Leap in 2005. My son did well with school work , (3.4 GPA) but did not test well. My has attended Harte since the 5th Grade, he is now an 8th grader and with the help of an awesome staff he is reading at level 8.1. Alice Harte's faculty and staff are totally committed to their students. Awesome Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

I heard alot about Alice Harte. I'm not impressed at all. I fall for the hype. They dont offer any type of foreign languages. It's not the loving enviroment I heard about. My daughter will not be attending next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

I've kept my child at Harte because I was optimistic after the storm that having Ms. Marciante as principal things would get better, and it has. The school just received a 19.4 million dollar grant and slated for a brand new facility in the NOPIS/RSD Master Plan. Math and Reading labs have been added, as well as other accelerated classes. ASCA is striving to have all or 90+ % of teachers with Master degress, and that recent grant is slated to help them reach that goal. They've hired several recent graduates from Holy Cross, and looking to pull more from that pool. Harte's extra curricular activies are varied and the new Men's Club is making a big impact. I love the warm family friendly atmosphere. It's unfortunate if others have had a bad experience, but there's always a few 'lemons' in the bunch, teacher and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

We have been at Harte for 4 years. Before katrina you had to live in district to get in to the school. Now anyone can go from anywhere in New Orleans. A school should reflect its neighborhood. Harte does not reflect its neighborhood. If it did my child would go there again as well as many other parent who took there chidren out because of the same reason. Educationally I think they are doing O.K. Every school can do better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

Are we expressing thoughts on the same school? Our kids are having the worst year ever,and we've been a 'member of the heart family for five years'! Where is this nuturing enviornment? Maybe the lower grade teachers are filling that gap, because it doesn't exist where my kids are.Decorum is gone. Harte was a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

Harte is a wonderful school. I am happy to be a part of the Harte family. If parents are in search of a school that not only educates your children, but offers a nuturing environment then Alice Harte is the school you are looking for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

The quality of the school has hit rock bottom. The school spirit is low and professionalism does not exist. The teachers are not happy so therefore learning isn't taking place in the classrooms. They do not care about the success of every student, especially since the storm. Something is very wrong at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

This school has excelled even after Katrina it is perfect for parents who want their kids to be in a family type enviroment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2007

Harte is making great progress since the hurricanes of 2005, but we are always striving to grow and do better. We have a really active PTO and the teachers really care about student success for every child. In addition to an academic program to meet the needs of every child (special education, gifted and everyone in between) the school has also implemented music, art and theater courses, as well as a sports program targeting the middle school kids. Keep up the good work Harte!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

The school has a good reputation. The teaching is good, interaction between teachers and parents is encouraged, and the classes are challenging. Extracurricular activities are available. However, in the past 2 years, since the school added 7th and 8th grades, it has become much less safe. There have been a numerous incidents of students getting caught with weapons and drugs, and this in an elementary/middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

Since it has become a charter school I feel the quality has decreased. Electives & extracurricular activities are no longer as prevalent. It was an excellent school pre-Katrina. The seventh and eight grade students have brought it down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

Alice M. Harte has always been a great school to send your kids too. The school staff is very friendly and help to all. Alot of the student parents is very active with the PTO program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

This school is great. The families come together on so many projects that it creates a true sense of community without being smug about itself. The teachers are dedicated and demanding, but are also geared to young learners who need nurturing, hugs and encouragement. We have three children in the school and feel very fortunate to be part of this program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
31%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 87% 45%
Hispanic 5% 4%
White 4% 47%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A67%
Male 53%N/A51%
Female 47%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jamar McKneely
Fax number
  • (504) 301-2802

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4422 General Meyer Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70131
Phone: (504) 373-6281

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT