Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Edna Karr Secondary School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a community member
I am a senior at Edna Karr and I love it soo much!!! Ever since my senior year, Edna karr has been improving drastically!!!! And i am proud to admit that I attend Edna Karr Highschool Class of 2014!!!!!!!!!

Edna Karr Secondary School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a student
I've attended Karr since 7th grade in 2003 and graduated in 2009 I loved the school and the teachers were great . I felt I received a great education and had fun while getting it. There was never a dull moment and everyone is always there to help


Edna Karr Secondary School 1

Posted June 01, 2011
- a community member
I recently interviewed at this school. I was not considered because I was considered "too high" a level of thinking, and the students are not well behaved. Apparently, students have "problems" and are not capable of higher level of thinking is what I walked away from the process. I was told that they use profanities directed at the teachers, and administrators have problems keeping teachers. Neighborhood is depressed since Katrina. After Katrina, the school went towards open enrollment.

Edna Karr Secondary School 4

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
My sons were former students at Karr. My oldest was a 2005 graduate. Unfortunately, Hurrican Katrina prevented my youngest, who was in 8th grade at the time, from continuing at Karr. We relocated to San Antonio, TX. Karr has given my son the background to continue to achieve as an honor student at Byron Steele High School. My son, Sheldon McClain is a class of 2010 student who has graduated early. I do remeber while at Karr (7th Grade) Sheldon tried out for the football team and was not chosen by Coach Foret. When we got to TX (8th grade) they quickly picked up on his talents. He has been extremely successful academically and athletically, which has earned him scholarships to numerous Division 1 Universities. He his presently enrolled at the University of Oklahoma ( Go Sooners). Karr HS-thanks for the start.

Edna Karr Secondary School 5

Posted December 31, 2009
- a parent
i love this schoool my student has special needs and they actually care unlike are last school in nyc


Edna Karr Secondary School 5

Posted October 06, 2008
- a student
i love edna karr! i know everyone there because we all grew up together! the teachers are amazing and they know what there doing! i love and always will love edna karr! im a senior this year and it's gonna be da best! Mz.504

Edna Karr Secondary School 4

Posted June 16, 2008
- a student
I went to Edna Karr before the hurricane and loved it. Right now I'm in the 11th grade and wish I can go back. The way the taught us new material was unique and understandable.

Edna Karr Secondary School 4

Posted April 28, 2008
- a parent
Edna Karr is an Excellent College Prepartory School. The Karr experience produces well rounded individuals who work hard and play hard. My daughter is in the Gifted Program, she enjoys the challenging curriculum. She is also a member of the schools dance team, and is looking foward to joining some the clubs on campus.


Edna Karr Secondary School 5

Posted March 05, 2008
- a community member
i am a proud 2003 graduate of this school. although Hurricane Katrina has changed some things, I truly feel that my alma mater Edna Karr is one of the greastest high schools in new orleans.

Edna Karr Secondary School 5

Posted September 05, 2007
- a student
OMG!!!! I sooo LOVE my school!! We don't really have that much fun, but we make our own fun... Karr is a great school if you want to learn and prepare for college.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edna Karr Secondary School
3332 Huntlee Drive, New Orleans, LA  70131
(504) 302-7135
Last modified Edna Karr Secondary School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Edna Karr Secondary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top