Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
New Orleans, LA
Students enrolled: 928
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Edna Karr Secondary School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a community member
I am a senior at Edna Karr and I love it soo much!!! Ever since my senior year, Edna karr has been improving drastically!!!! And i am proud to admit that I attend Edna Karr Highschool Class of 2014!!!!!!!!!

Edna Karr Secondary School 5

Posted September 04, 2013
- a student
I've attended Karr since 7th grade in 2003 and graduated in 2009 I loved the school and the teachers were great . I felt I received a great education and had fun while getting it. There was never a dull moment and everyone is always there to help


Edna Karr Secondary School 1

Posted June 01, 2011
- a community member
I recently interviewed at this school. I was not considered because I was considered "too high" a level of thinking, and the students are not well behaved. Apparently, students have "problems" and are not capable of higher level of thinking is what I walked away from the process. I was told that they use profanities directed at the teachers, and administrators have problems keeping teachers. Neighborhood is depressed since Katrina. After Katrina, the school went towards open enrollment.

Edna Karr Secondary School 4

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
My sons were former students at Karr. My oldest was a 2005 graduate. Unfortunately, Hurrican Katrina prevented my youngest, who was in 8th grade at the time, from continuing at Karr. We relocated to San Antonio, TX. Karr has given my son the background to continue to achieve as an honor student at Byron Steele High School. My son, Sheldon McClain is a class of 2010 student who has graduated early. I do remeber while at Karr (7th Grade) Sheldon tried out for the football team and was not chosen by Coach Foret. When we got to TX (8th grade) they quickly picked up on his talents. He has been extremely successful academically and athletically, which has earned him scholarships to numerous Division 1 Universities. He his presently enrolled at the University of Oklahoma ( Go Sooners). Karr HS-thanks for the start.

Edna Karr Secondary School 5

Posted December 31, 2009
- a parent
i love this schoool my student has special needs and they actually care unlike are last school in nyc


Edna Karr Secondary School 1

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Edna Karr Secondary School 5

Posted May 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Edna Karr Secondary School 5

Posted April 06, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Edna Karr Secondary School 5

Posted March 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Edna Karr Secondary School 5

Posted February 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edna Karr Secondary School
3332 Huntlee Drive, New Orleans, LA  70131
(504) 302-7135
Last modified Edna Karr Secondary School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Edna Karr Secondary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top