Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lusher Charter School

Charter | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2006

Post Katrina Report - Lusher has become a charter school which means that it is still a public school, but it has the ability to form its own governance rather than always having to wait on the school board (which is not even close to returning to full operations). About 80% of the staff/teachers/students have been able to return, and the school was able to hire some of the best teachers from other schools that haven't reopened to fill its ranks. Testing is still required for enrollment except for the in-district students, and there are always more applicants than spots available. The academics are great. The Art after Hours program (fees and scholarships) gives the children a chance to continue learning after the normal school hours - great for working parents. Parental involvement is very high. Lusher is a wonderful experience for culture, diversity, the arts and academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2005

High performing, nurturing school. Best and hardest working teachers you'll find anywhere. Admin. is top notch. Kids love this place!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2005

Lusher is the best public school choice in New Orleans. Its diversity of ethnic and socio-economic backgrounds make it unique. The teachers and administrators make Lusher the best it can be for each student. The arts integration along with many nationally certified teachers make Lusher a great place for your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2005

Lusher is a wonderful school with caring, supportive teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2005

I am the daughter of an immigrant from a poor Central American country. Lusher exposed me to a school family composed of others that were both culturally and economically different from me and fostered friendships that have lasted 11 yrs post my 8th grade graduation. Lusher provided me with the education and good learning skills that facilitated my future graduation with a Master s from Tulane. As a person financially able to send my future children to any school in the city I would absolutely, unequivocally choose Lusher as the only option. I will always be grateful to Lusher.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 12, 2004

My son tested to attend Lusher Elementary as a CWAS student and I am fortunate that he tested high enough to secure a high enough spot on the waiting list for Kindergarten. Thankfully we secured a spot and could not be happier. Lusher is both culturally and economically diverse and accurately reflects our society at large. I don't know why there are folks in the community claiming 'elitisms' about the school. This school should be a model for the majority of schools in Orleans Parish. The curriculum is arts and humanities strong with motivated teachers and very active parent group. Overall, I could not be more happy with the quality of education my son is receiving at Lusher. And as he recently asked his principal, when will Lusher High School begin??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

Lusher is an incredible learning and social environment. It's racial balanace is about 50-50 which is a tremendous advantage for children. I have a hard time understanding the school's lilly white reputation. The school should be a model for all schools. Afterall it is consistenly the #1 ranked accademic public school in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2004

As an alumni of Lusher, I could not have hoped for a better school to attend. This school molded me into wanting to learn. the more i was taught the more i wanted, they provided me with an exceptional education to lead me to a quality high school... Thank you Lusher.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 29, 2003

The teachers at this school really go beyond the call of duty to nurture kids and help them learn. We have top scores and happy kids. If a child is struggling, all you have to do is ask for help. The teachers bend over backward. There is also lots of parent involvement. You get to know the families there, plus have lots of ways to contribute to the school's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2003

I am so happy to have grown up as a lusher student. I don't think it would be possible for a child to feel more secure, respected, or loved than lusher made me feel. Not only is it a beautiful, diverse, and encouraging environment, but I also got a great education. Five years after graduating from lusher, I realize what a huge impact it made on my life. I would urge every parent in the greater new orleans area to send their child to such a phenomenal school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 11, 2003

The teachers are great, I find to be very involved with the children as individuals. I love how the teachers take the time to get to know their students individual personalities and cater their teaching to the child's abilities and thus encourages the students educational growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2003

Lusher is a great school for any child to attend, but it seems to me, that African-American students have a hard time being accepted into the school, as well as, staying enrolled in the school. I feel that the African-American children are not being treated fairly, academically, as the other ethnical groups of children. The mission of Lusher is not being practiced in the school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

High expectations, extremely safe learning environment, multicultural atmosphere, many opportunities for enhanced learning beyond the classroom make this a great school!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

118 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

118 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 47%
Black 32% 45%
Hispanic 7% 4%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A67%
Male 48%N/A51%
Female 52%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Nurse(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Kathleen H Riedlinger
Fax number
  • (504) 861-1839

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Nurse(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5624 Freret Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone: (504) 304-3960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Isidore Newman School
New Orleans, LA





Holy Rosary Academy
New Orleans, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT