Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 84 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lusher Charter School 2

Posted February 15, 2016
- a community member
we were newcomers there. neither we or are children were made to feel welcome. The children are mean and clique-ish and there is a whole cadre of parents, mostly moms, who foster this attitude by their own example. The whole school feels like some sort of exclusive club.

Lusher Charter School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 04, 2016
- a community member
They ignore student complaints of being teased, especially the boys, to the point where interest in school drops.


Lusher Charter School 2

Posted January 04, 2016
- a community member
Not an inclusive environment. Judgemental and isolates students they (administration and teachers) deem "not fit".

Lusher Charter School 5

Posted April 22, 2015
- a parent
We love everything about this school. The teachers and administrators are all wonderful and very caring. I call it an infectious school. Its four principles have captivated our family and you truly feel it radiating from the campus. Be Kind, Be responsible, be respectful to people and property and always do you best work. Literally walking in the gate in the morning and you feel the kindness. AND Morning meeting is WONDERFUL!!!! i look forward to it everyday! It's entertaining and informative and seeing the kids sing and dance EVERY day is inspiring!! Also i would guess that typically 200 other parents are there every morning watching and enjoying morning meeting just like me. Great time to socialize and get involved or just give that last hug and kiss to your child as they head off to class. I think all the quantitative data shows the academic superiority of the school and that alone makes it great, but all the intangibles, the creativity and love oozing from it, is what makes it WAY WAY WAY beyond EXCELLENT!!! From 1-5 its an 11

Lusher Charter School 1

Posted February 23, 2015
- a student
I hate every high school aspect of Lusher. The dress code is too strict to say we are an "arts school". How are the students supposed to show ff their creativity with being told how to dress? Some of the administration holds grudges against students who have messed up in the past and that's unprofessional. My high school experience at Lusher is at a 1 on a scale from one to ten; one being the lowest. I regret staying at Lusher for high school and i hate it.


Lusher Charter School 3

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
Lusher has many good things going for it but as with many schools its all about testing. The administration has become very strict with how deal with minor infractions of its students especially boys. There are some very inspired teachers here that are dedicated and a handful that should reconsider teaching as a profession.

Lusher Charter School 5

Posted September 19, 2014
- a community member
I am a UNO student working on my Master of Arts in Teaching. I would recommend this school to everyone, regardless of age or ability. A struggling student might excel here because the culture nurtures hard work. Today I met a teacher in the hallway. "What do you teach?" "Engineering." To which I replied, "This is a high school, right?" He explained a K - 12 program that mirrors university work. Sounds like these guys believe that if you expect the best, and your kids will surprise the heck out of you.

Lusher Charter School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a community member
I've been hearing about this schools outstanding achievements and can't wait til my daughter is old enough to attend!


Lusher Charter School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
This school is definitely an above average school. The students are well behaved, and there is a lot of dialogue between the administration and teachers.

Lusher Charter School 5

Posted February 17, 2013
- a parent
Wow! This is, without a doubt, not just one of the best schools in New Orleans- it has to be one of the best schools in the United States. We have done it all: private school, parochial, and "blue ribbon" public in the northeast. Lusher leaves them all in the dust. Th arts-based education is what most parents only dream of: the perfect combination of academics and the music and art that make New Orleans special. Every morning the children have an outdoor concert with dancing, the pride rules emphasize kindness, and the parental involvement is second-to-none. We received a very generous job offer in another state, but refused it to keep the children at Lusher. I'm just jealous I didn't get to attend myself.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lusher Charter School
5624 Freret Street, New Orleans, LA  70115
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 84 reviews. (504) 304-3960
Last modified Lusher Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top