Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mcdonogh #35 Senior High School

Public | 7-12 | 869 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2009

I have been attending 35 ever since I was in the seventh grade, I am a current sophmore and to me there's no greater place! I love this school, it's my home away from home! -mj
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2009

35 is a great school. Unlike what most people may think recently about it beins about nothing but sports, allcoaches at 35 shallenge you academicaly
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 25, 2008

I am an 8th grader that attends McDonogh 35 and I have been going there since 7th grade. I think 35 is a really great school, and I plan on graduating from the school. I love the principal and how he conduct things through out the entire school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2008

I attend McDonogh #35 and I love the school. Im a 9th grader, but I been there since 8th, and it is the best! Im a Roneagle 4 ever!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2008

My grandson attends Mcdonogh #35 and there are some positive things going on at the school. However, the school needs a serious make over. The neighborhhood leaves a lot to be desired. I wished I lived in the city, I would start a clean up and lets look better effort It is a depresssing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

I think McDonogh 35 Sr. High School is the best of the best!!!! My two son's went there. The faculty is wonderful... It's like a big Family... My son's are both doing excellent... brenda brossett, Jared & Elery
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

Mcd 35 is an excellent school! My child attends this school! She is learning about new things everyday, good job 3-5!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

mcdonogh #35 is still an excellent school that demands excellence out of its studends
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2008

This is the best school in Orleans Parish!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

I loved McDonogh #35. It was perhaps the greatest experience of my educational career!


Posted September 17, 2007

It was great before Katrina, now its bad. A lack of books and desks and the lack of good teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

Other than my spiritual background, I can honestly say that McDonogh #35 has had the single most influence in my life! The school stood out amongst all others in not only the city of New Orleans, but in Louisiana and in the United States. It is known as the 'A Choice, Not an Echo'. The school had many extracurricular activies, band(my favorite), choir, basketball,.. the list goes on and on. Many of the teachers were themselves alumni of McDonogh #35. They returned and gave back to the school over and over again. My favorites and long standing teachers? Sophia Conway, Mr. Lloyd L. Harris, Ms Harris(Science), Mr. Harris(Science). We started out our days in the bandroom, had band as a class, and ended our days in band.We were encouraged to excel in education. The school held its own against the private schools in N.O. I love Mcd # #35.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 7, 2006

Founded in 1917, Mcdonogh No. 35 College Prepatory High School has proven to be not only a key factor in the future of black educated new orleanians, but an important role in the culture and history of the city of New Orleans. Located in the nations first all black community, students at '35' are prepared to take on all challenges of life. This is a school that I am a proud alumnus of. My two sisters are Roneagles. My dad was a Roneagle. And I would be honored if my children make the choice to keep our 'Roneagle family' a prestigious heritage. A nationally recognized blue ribbon school, and the city of New Orleans' best kept academic secret, its time for the world to know that 'everywhere you go, there is a Roneagle.' -Graduate, Class of 1998. -A Choice...Not an Echo.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 27, 2006

As a 1983 graduate of McDonogh 35 and the parent of 2002 (Grambling St.)and 2005 (Jackson St.) graduates, I cannot begin to express the gratitude that I have for this 'Historical Black' institution. McD 35, not only prepared me for the academic world, but to become a servant of my community. While it may not have the best of facilities it consistently turns out the best students. It taught us self pride and with that we can sit at the table with others who are different but be self assured that we also bring something to that table. The city of New Orleans, State of Louisiana and the OPSB should be proud that such a school exist in their backyard. Which proves that with high expectations, our children rise to the occasion. It's has been said to 'unto whom much is given, shall much be required.' Ever High 35 Thank you, Class of
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 22, 2006

I love mcd 35. It is truly one of the best school in New Orleans. The history of the school runs so deep. Nothing can stop this school from educating. HIGH 35!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 18, 2006

I am a former student at McD35. My daughter is a junior this year. We were displaced by Hurricane Katrina and she never stopped longing for 'Fair 35'. I thought I knew of the 'die-hard' 35 student body and alumni; but, she has really been ridiculous in her appeal to get back to New Orleans and go to 'her' school. 35 has always been an influence in our city, and I hope and pray that it will continue to thrive as such. May God continue to shine his countenance upon 35 and all of the survivors of Hurricane Katrina. Loving Parent/Alumni
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 11, 2005

McDonogh 35 was the best thing that has happened to me. The parents,students and teachers know what kind of school we have and they want to keep it that way. This school prepared me for life after high school and college. Thank you!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2004

This school ranks as one of the highest public schools in the City of New Orleans. The Teaching Staff is very knowledgeable and caring, they promote self pride, respect and confidence in a diminishing school system. The Principal takes a personal interest in each and every student. The students are challenged under unfavorable circumstances and still excelle as some of the brightest. The marching band is one of the best in the country. The parents appear to be involved. The school I would rate as a 5 because the are still competing with unlikely odds. Schools like this one inspires hope. My son is a sophmore student at this school, it is his first year attending. I am very optomistic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2004

McDonogh 35 is an excellent institution, leading in Academic Achievement, and Extracurricular involvement in both students teachers. McDonogh 35 is not just an ordinary school, it is a school that cares about the student as a whole. Focusing on its academic achievement as well as social growth and the growth of the muturaity level in teenagers. McDonogh 35 is an excellent, safe, enviorment for learning. My children love attending there, and I am very comfortable sending them there, it is truly a wounderful school I just can't say enough. I am forever grateful for McDonogh 35. Thank you so much, from my children as well as myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This is my son's second (sophomore) year at McDonogh 35. Teens are over-stressed enough at home and in the community. To me school should be not only a place of academia, but also where students can develop social skills and be made to feel 'a part'. That is what 35 did for my son. McDonogh 35 provided an environment of learning and condusive familiarity that my son was able to maintain his GPA (4.01), make friends and simply enjoy his first year of high school. He loves the Roneagles. To a parent, this speaks highly of the institution overall. My son is a great teen, and 35 is a great school--they have bonded to my good pleasure and peace of mind. I prayed that he would matriculate in a school during his secondary school years, out of which he could get a fulfillment of experiencing a wholesome teenage academic and social setting. Thanks 35.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

184 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

184 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
36%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
7%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
14%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
25%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
4%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 99% 45%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
White 0% 47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Phillip J White
Fax number
  • (504) 942-0276

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1331 Kerlerec Street
New Orleans, LA 70116
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 324-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT