Advertisement
Advertisement

Holy Name of Jesus School

Private | PK-7

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Orleans

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $247,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2009

Holy Name of Jesus is a solid and well rounded school. Their highest priorities are academics, faith and community. The teachers are excellent and very caring. I feel my children are secure, academically challeged and most of all happy. I would strongly recommend Holy Name of Jesus school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Holy Name of Jesus School is a top notch elementary school that offers a wonderful education at a comparably affordable price. The school not only nutures the mind, but also the spirit through service projects to help the community, providing outstanding education through teaching, and Catholic Mass. I worked there for 3.5 years and really enjoyed being a part of a wonderful educational community. I would highly recommend Holy Name of Jesus to anyone and hope HNJ wins the contest.


Posted February 9, 2009

For several generations HNJ was one of the finest private schools in New Orleans, but today the parents (and perhaps now even the administration) seem to want mainly to indulge in this hard-earned reputation than to make the tough decisions needed to assure a brighter future for the school. Overall the faculty do good work with the school's declining resources: The children receive a satisfactory education in a nurturing environment. However, little at HNJ seems to be seriously aimed at breeding excellence. The problem lies in the priorities of the parents who are preoccupied with les bon temps and promoting the clubbiness of the HNJ brand at the expense of the (tedious) long-term educational interests of the children. Unfortunately this is a philosophical problem and one that cannot be solved by simply spending more money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

Holy Name is a wonderful school. Lisa Houck, the counselor/social worker, is very approachable and gives great advice to parents and children. She is a valuable part of this school. Also, I appreciate the fact that the school has children of diverse backgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2007

Holy Name was a great school. I find that every year the problems seem to get a little worse. I dont feel that they disicpline they way that most schools do. They are in need of a disciplinarian badly. I feel that the faculty should be more involved with the children than they are. At recess the teachers gossip instead of watching the kids. If you are looking for a school that focuses on a great social time, then HNJ is for you....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

Like New Orleans; Holy Name has great opportunities but suffers from a lack of leadership both from the school administration and the Archdiocese of New Orleans. The foundation and core of HNJ is the commitment made by parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

School with a great history but going through a defining moment with loss of Catholic foundation and divisive leadership. School is rudderless and in desparate need of academic, administrative and religious overhaul.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2006

I am currently in the 8th grade. Not at H.N.J but I did attend H.N.J from kindergarten to 7th grade. I feel that this school has wonderful opportunities and it is without a doubt one of the best schools I have ever gone to. The teachers are truly amazing because they make the classes fun and very educational. I would definantly want my children to go to this school one day. It is amazing and fun. Any child as lucky as myself who has gone here would agree with me.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 24, 2005

I think HNJ is one of the most unique schools in our city. The current Principal, Mrs. Wolbrette, has set a vision and mission for the school tht I believe my children will benefit from immensely. I have one child that is an above average student and I believe is being challenged in the academic and extracuricular programs that HNJ offers. On the other hand, I have a child that has specific learning challenges. HNJ has provided our family with an academic program that does not make my child EVER feel different or excluded. Mrs. Wolbrette has advised and counseled us numerous times when we thought there was no hope left! I know that my family would not be as 'functional' as we are today if we did not send out children to Holy Name of Jesus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Educationally, the school has been wonderful. However, as any cat. school, it does not add anything to the above or below average student. The teachers are mildly dutiful and at times even remiss. However, the educational aspect is very good for the average student. It will increase their learning capacity. Yet, if the student is above or below average, one might fair out better someplace else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

One of the best education values in New Orleans! Holy Name of Jesus is a co-ed elementary Catholic school with a history of over 100 years in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in New Orleans. Very experienced teachers and a high school prep curriculum make this school a great value for the price of the tuition when compared to other private schools in the area. The student population is diverse with parents who are committed to a good education for their child which includes fine arts and regular physical education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 44%
Black 12% 51%
Hispanic 4% 3%
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New Orleans
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6325 Cromwell Pl
New Orleans, LA 70118
Phone: (504) 861-1466

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lusher Charter School
New Orleans, LA




Isidore Newman School
New Orleans, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT