Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-7
Private
New Orleans, LA
Students enrolled: 561
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holy Name Of Jesus School 4

Posted April 24, 2014
- a community member
love it you get life long friends there rate on academics 1-10:7 rate on teachers :6 t=most of the teachers in the school have bad attitudes the description on hoe your child will feel after school fith grade: sad and crying beacause of a teacher sixth : stuggling in science and sad and confused in reading and English seventh: stil sad and confused in reading and English and waiting to get out like I am.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Holy Name Of Jesus School 5

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
Holy Name of Jesus is a solid and well rounded school. Their highest priorities are academics, faith and community. The teachers are excellent and very caring. I feel my children are secure, academically challeged and most of all happy. I would strongly recommend Holy Name of Jesus school.


Holy Name Of Jesus School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
Holy Name of Jesus School is a top notch elementary school that offers a wonderful education at a comparably affordable price. The school not only nutures the mind, but also the spirit through service projects to help the community, providing outstanding education through teaching, and Catholic Mass. I worked there for 3.5 years and really enjoyed being a part of a wonderful educational community. I would highly recommend Holy Name of Jesus to anyone and hope HNJ wins the contest.

Holy Name Of Jesus School 3

Posted February 09, 2009
- a parent
For several generations HNJ was one of the finest private schools in New Orleans, but today the parents (and perhaps now even the administration) seem to want mainly to indulge in this hard-earned reputation than to make the tough decisions needed to assure a brighter future for the school. Overall the faculty do good work with the school's declining resources: The children receive a satisfactory education in a nurturing environment. However, little at HNJ seems to be seriously aimed at breeding excellence. The problem lies in the priorities of the parents who are preoccupied with les bon temps and promoting the clubbiness of the HNJ brand at the expense of the (tedious) long-term educational interests of the children. Unfortunately this is a philosophical problem and one that cannot be solved by simply spending more money.

Holy Name Of Jesus School 4

Posted November 08, 2008
- a parent
Holy Name is a wonderful school. Lisa Houck, the counselor/social worker, is very approachable and gives great advice to parents and children. She is a valuable part of this school. Also, I appreciate the fact that the school has children of diverse backgrounds.


Holy Name Of Jesus School 0
no rating

Posted October 18, 2007
- a parent
Holy Name was a great school. I find that every year the problems seem to get a little worse. I dont feel that they disicpline they way that most schools do. They are in need of a disciplinarian badly. I feel that the faculty should be more involved with the children than they are. At recess the teachers gossip instead of watching the kids. If you are looking for a school that focuses on a great social time, then HNJ is for you....

Holy Name Of Jesus School 4

Posted September 12, 2007
- a parent
Like New Orleans; Holy Name has great opportunities but suffers from a lack of leadership both from the school administration and the Archdiocese of New Orleans. The foundation and core of HNJ is the commitment made by parents.

Holy Name Of Jesus School 0
no rating

Posted July 07, 2007
- a parent
School with a great history but going through a defining moment with loss of Catholic foundation and divisive leadership. School is rudderless and in desparate need of academic, administrative and religious overhaul.


Holy Name Of Jesus School 5

Posted June 06, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Holy Name Of Jesus School 5

Posted April 18, 2006
- a former student
I am currently in the 8th grade. Not at H.N.J but I did attend H.N.J from kindergarten to 7th grade. I feel that this school has wonderful opportunities and it is without a doubt one of the best schools I have ever gone to. The teachers are truly amazing because they make the classes fun and very educational. I would definantly want my children to go to this school one day. It is amazing and fun. Any child as lucky as myself who has gone here would agree with me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Name Of Jesus School
6325 Cromwell Place, New Orleans, LA  70118
(504) 861-1466
Last modified Holy Name Of Jesus School is a Private school that serves grades PK-7
Holy Name Of Jesus School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top