Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Resurrection Of Our Lord School

Private | PK-8 | 459 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Orleans

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $63,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2013

As a parent I was very hesitant to put my child into a school coming from daycare because I thought he would get lost in the midst. I was welcomed with all my anxiety, his teachers were Mrs. Pat and Mrs. Cue they were so warm and welcoming, It eased my mind. They addressed every concern or question I had, my son began to love school, imagine my surprise, he was given structure and goals that needed to be met. Our first year was wonderful, it was an experience for both of us. My only regret I have is that I couldn't add to the ratio of parents that were involved in the school. I have decided to commit to being involved more this school year and encourage others to do the same. Not just as a hobby but to assist in the growth o the school not just for my child but for all children. I have no complaints, we are looking forward to another year to be amazed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

worst school ever please do not allow your child to attend...this school is better off being closed down.... the teachers are horrible with communication .....this school prides itself on summer school they notify the parents little to none to tell them if there child is failing...the don't focus on education their big deal is fundraising .....seem like the teachers do not care if your child succeeds or not...whatever you do do not send your child or children to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

Parents think long and hard before you even think about sending your child to Resurrection of Our Lord elementary school. They have not evolved into this century, especially where education strategies and childrens' learning styles are concerned. The kids still sit in rows and work from xerox handouts or simply turn to a page in a textbook and do part A and B. Students are not engaged with interesting activities that would promote academic achievement. This is not teaching. Many teachers are not making the material applicable and therefore more meaningful and concrete for students to understand why they are learning certain material. Some other teachers are not following a curriculum guide. There is often no direction as to what they are supposed to teach and at what time. Students would be better served in a good public school. This one is lacking on so many levels it is unbelievable. Communication is also very difficult here since they don't have a system to receive voice mails for some teachers nor emails for each teacher. Again, do your homework as a parent and look carefully before you choose this school. I wish that I had. I give Resurrection one star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I am a current student here at Resurrection. I think that this school is very good because the teachers always help you understand what your problem is and try to solve it with you. Also because I am Graduating this year, the teacher stress about highschool, they push us to do the best we can to get into good schools, especially Mrs. Comeaux, our assistant principal and social studies teacher. She tries her best to help us get into the schools we want to by visiting the schools, asking about the requirements needed to be accepted, and also makes school baskets for our annual Spring Festival. Another reason why i like this school is because certain teachers make learning and understanding really fun and enjoyable, and there are always fun events such as Movie Night. When i graduate this year, i will miss everyone here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2008

I attended Catholic School all of my life, from Holy Ghost to St. Augustine High where much of my instuction came from highly dedicated Nuns or Priests. Today, in comparison, that same dedication rarely exists particularly since fewer nuns and priests actually teach, teachers salaries are low, and unlike in the charter system, teaching qualification requirements are minimal. My wife who is certified and has an M.Ed. teaches in the charter system. You're just not going to find many teachers with these credentials in the catholic system. The Archdiocese can't afford it. I applaud the leadership of Resurrections' principal. He has done a great job with the resources available to him. Though I agree with some comments I've read about the teachers, you can't fault the entire school for a couple of bad apples. Remember, before katrina, catholic schools were tops while public schools were flops. George Temple, MBA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

As a student of Resurrection of Our Lord I would like to speak about my school. I have attended Resurrection the two years post-katrina and the comments that some parents and students have posted are very wrong about the school. Its a very good school they help every child . They always had a open ear if you had a problem . I would like to say that if i could go back i would they made my 8th grade year the best. I will miss all the teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2008

My son is a student at this school, and while I will admit that some changes are needed, I wonder how many of the parents posting here actively participate in the school. Besides the gossiping and complaining that I encounter in the parking lot, I do see many parents volunteering around the school. My son's teacher's constantly calls on me to help her because she can not get other parents to commit. Parents should remember that we are our children's leaders. The school can be what we make it. And, according to the remarks here and the lack of presence at the school, I guess you rate the school negatively because you want to pass blame instead of build up the school and our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

This school is old school your child can be educated better in a public charter school. I am so glad this school year is finally over. All my son teacher did was complain he could never do anything right. Even though his grades were great. This school will definitely have your child with low self esteem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

I would not give this school one red star. My son has been attending Resurrection for 2 years now and I am looking forward to the end of the school. I would rather stay home and homeschool him before I would send him back to this school. HIs PreK teacher did not know much about teaching PreK and his Kindergarten teacher is still giving them PreK 3 homework. The quality of this school has definitely gone down and I would not recommend this school to noone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

Considering the damage that New Orleans East sustained after Katrina, Resurrection has made admirable strides to offer a safe, Christian environment for the student body in New Orleans East.


Posted August 28, 2007

I was outraged at the type of school this has become. Many of the students were running around unsupervised; the teachers weren t in the classrooms. Some of these kids were terrible. Warning to parents, this is not the school is was before Katrina, it is all about making a dollar now, and they don t care who they accept, as long as they are getting that tuition money. My kids stayed all of one week. They were begging not to go back. Think twice before making that mistake. I informed the office about the concerns we had and they just stared at us, as if we were the ones with the problem. They looked at us as if we should not be concerned about our kid s safety and concerns. My son was afraid of some of the kids in his class. It is not worth it...there are better public schools in this city than this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

The dedication of the staff is awesome! I made a great choice sending my kids here pre and post Katrina.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

The overall quality of this school has gone down.I would not send a dog to this school. My daughter would ask her teacher questions he would answer her by stating 'it's in the book' no further explanation was given to her. some teachers did'nt even show up for the report card conferences. What does that say to me as a parent? bottom line I would not send my child to this school My daughters both went to this school prior to Katrina as well as after Katrina. The school lacks security. I voiced my concerns several times to the principal and was avoided like the plague. I as well as my daughters are looking forward to the end of the school year,when we can put Resurrection in our Rear view mirror.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

My daughter attended Resurrection prior to Hurricane Katrina. She was blessed with two great teachers. Her foundation at this school has led to outstanding success at her present school. I was very pleased with this school. I appreciated the 'no bargaining', 'we demand the best' attitude amongst the seasoned, professional staff. My daughter will return, if, and when we return to New Orleans.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

I am a former teacher of R.O.O.L. Since I was displaced by Hurricane Katrina and blessed to secure a teaching position at another school one month after the windstorm, I can objectively say that Resurrection is a good school. Although the staff has changed and the school is in need of repairs post-Katrina, its strongest assets continues to be its priest, its principal, and its teachers. One of the middle school teachers, Mrs. Comeaux, returned to Resurrection despite the ability to work closer to her home. She is one of the many dedicated teachers at the school. While I was employed at Resurrection, there were some complaints about the demanding curriculum in middle school, but an impressive number of students return to the school to report that they were placed in high school honors classes and / or feel adequately prepared for their first year of high school. R.O.O.L. values students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 29, 2006

My daughters have attened this school for 3 years.I felt they were taught a year ahead. My daughters experience with the teaches,staff and the principle of the school was excellent. I look forward to this school opening back up for the 06-07 school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2006

Do not send your child to this school the teachers do not care about your childs future not all but most.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 29, 2004

Stay clear of this school. The teachers are impatient and tired. This school charges too much for too little.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

If you are looking for a good school steer clear of this one. The educational levels are a grade behind, and the staff are all old and tired people. This school needs more young and better educated people.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 71% 51%
Asian 19% N/A
White 9% 44%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Vickie Helmstetter
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (504) 241-5532

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New Orleans
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4861 Rosalia Drive
New Orleans, LA 70127
Phone: (504) 243-2257

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Reed Elementary School
New Orleans, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT