Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Anthony Of Padua School

Private | PK-7 | 160 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Orleans

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $103,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2013

Excellent teacher to student ratio. A very nurturing Catholic environment. We feel that our child is being developed both academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2012

This school needs a complete overhaul. Every aspect of the school is outdated: the faculty, the facility, the curriculum and the approach to learning. There is no PTA, no play area for the kids, very few extracurricular activities and a lack of hands on learning. There is outright favoritism and unfair assessments for students. I was embarrassed when my child was tested to go to another school at how far behind the was. The website contains no current information about what is going on at the school. The tuition is pricey compared to other catholic schools. The teacher had no control of the students.Thank God I taught her at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

St. Anthony of Padua is an excellent school for my three children. Strong traditional leadership and excellent caring teachers who instill morals and values as well as educational excellenc.. The students are treated with dignity and respect and the same is expected of them in return. The children who attend St. Anthony are polite and respectful and the staff is always on top of their game. Not only have my children excelled academicly but they have also learned how to play the piano, recorder and also sign language. The children take Spanish from kindergarten through 7th grade. I come from a family of educators and can say with confidence this school knows how to form moral leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

I agree with several of the previous writers. I truly have a problem with any school that is not culturally diverse. Over 90% of the student body is African American and Black history month is not acknowledged. For the Martin Luther King Holiday a notice was sent home stating school was closed for a student holiday versus school was closed to observe and Celebrate the contributions of Dr. Martin Luther King. My child was in 2nd grade this year and it was truly a struggle. The curriculum needs to be redeveloped to adopt a more creative approach to learning which includes interactive learning activities for children. The current curriculum is dated and to be frankly honest is lacking especially in math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2011

St.Antony of Padua is a great diappointment...We couldn't ask for a better principal, but there are other staff who do not work well with such a diverse group of people. There is an obvious lack of concern and attention given to all children. This year my child was in 2nd grade and I must say this has been the worst school experience of any of my children through the years. This school lack essential programs, extra curricular activities, field trips, and a decent playground for kids to play. What are we paying for? There are schools out there with better academics and other programs that cater to the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2010

I absolutely love this school. I have a four year old and a two year old each in their first year at St. Anthony's. My oldest son enjoys school so much that he often begs me to stay! That said, it is not as if they are playing around all day, they are learning and the teachers are strict but loving. My two year old is quite the handful and the teachers and principal have gone above and beyond to work with me on his behavior issues. Aside from the excellent staff, the school is extremely diverse and I have not found a school of this caliber for a better price anywhere in the city!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

I believe that the principle is the head of any good school. St. Anthony has a strong principal, but the school doesn't cater to students of diverse races. Their are no programs to inform students of their history and they dare not speak of President Obama. And if you do not have any alphabets behind ur name, your child is not treated the same. Let'sface it alot of us are average Joe parents. Money talks at St. Anthony. Most of the students have trouble in the classes and teachers offer little assistance to them. There are hardly any extra curricular activities and foreign language is a joke. I agree the 2nd grade teacher is great, but the rest of the faculty need to update their teaching style to accomadate the students that they teach. Students are graded so hard and are given little chance at success. This is our last year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

After researching and visiting schools in our area, we discovered St. Anthony of Padua! Our son, who had been unhappy in school his first two years in New Orleans, became engaged and happy, made friends and immediately began participating in many of the multitude of activities available. If only he had been at St. Anthony when he started school! The curriculum is constantly evolving with the times. When he graduated, he was extremely well prepared for high school academically, but even more important, he had been in an environment where he was safe, happy and had learned to value and respect others. His years at St. Anthony were wonderful for him and for us as parents. Sister Ruth and all of his teachers have been- and still are - warm and caring individuals who strive to meet the needs of each individual child. I highly recommend St. Anthony of Padua.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

After attending a highly-rated and nationally-ranked public school, my son transferred to St. Anthony of Padua for the 7th grade. I wish he had attended St. Anthony from kindergarten on. The school provides individual attention to all, not just the special needs or over-acchieving students. The school is diverse; the curriculum is strong; and the teachers and administration responsive and respectful when dealing with students and their families. We strongly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

I've been a parent at SAS for 16 years. My oldest was there for 10 years and my youngest still attends. This is his 7th year. My oldest always scored above avergae on a national scale. When he left, he was well prepared for the challenges that an all boys' Catholic HS presented. My youngest being ADHD, I BELIEVE, has learned behaviors without the use of medications due to the discipline, teaching style of most of the teachers he has had. Students are released early once a week allowing faculty to meet and discuss... I've not always been happy about the outcome of certain issues in 16 years but I cannot deny the school does provide a good education and the foundation for good values. It's up to us to embrace and encourage it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

St. Anthony is the pits. Anything past second grade isn't worth the money. The preschool 3 teachers Ms. Terri and Ms. Joy are great as well as Ms. Bajon the second grade teacher. The principal has been there for 41 years and still run the school like time has not changed. Issues are not addressed when bought before administration. The archdiocesan really needs to take a good look at why the school is rapidly loosing students. Administration needs updating and the faculty needs restructuring and should match the student body. The teachers past second grade does not seem to have the best interest of the students in mind. If there isn't a change soon, it will be another catholic parish in New Orleans closing it's doors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

The school need 21st century accomadations. The principal is very involved in every way with the school and is terrific. The staff are older and of the same race, which is difficult for the students and parents who are multi-raced. The school has gotten funding for new computers and smart boards, but enrollment is steady decreasing each school year because the school is not as good as it use to be. The 2nd grade teacher, Mrs. Bajon is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

One of the best in New Orleans, with a dedicated and fantastic principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

i love the school its mixed of different races and gives you more time to develop a social life and a learning life to!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2005

I am a current student at St. Anthony of Padua School. I love this school. Ive been here for 10 years and still have a year to go since I have decided to stay at St. Anthony for 8th grade. The teachers are very nice, and the classroom participation is great. Every student is willing to help another student with problems they may have in school. St. Anthony has alot of extra curricular activities that you can participate in such as band, choir, sports, art, cheerleading, chess club, quiz bowl, and much more. I am blessed to be going to this school. And I hope you consider bringing your child to St. Anthony.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2004

I am a native New Orlenian who now lives in Houston. My daughter attended St. Anthony of Padua before we moved. If we hadn't moved, she would still be there. The school is a hidden gem in New Orleans. Very few schools have been able to maintain diversity and at the same time, maintain academic intergrity and still be reasonable. I absolutely recommend the school. Many people asked how I was able to get my child in the first time we applied. My daughter loved it too and it was worth every penny. Very organized, caring staff, small personal classes, nice families and mandatory reading time each morning. I was blessed that we found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2004

Currently, I have two children attending St. Anthony of Padua. My children love the school. The academic program is great and the principle is well respected throughtout the community and amongst high schools. It is a loving and caring school, which have diversity, academics, and an around good program. Everytime I say my children attend St. Anthony, parents stop and want to here more about the school. I have spoken to principles at high schools who have told me that 95% of the students that come from St. Anthony are well prepared for high school and beyond. My only wish is that St. Anthony of Padua could extend their program to 12th grade. When I tell you I love this school, I realy love this school. the teachers, principal, and staff are great. The best decision I every made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

This is an excellent school for ethnic diversity. The computer program is exceptional and the extracurricular program is remarkable. One of the cities' best by far.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 78% 51%
White 10% 44%
Hispanic 9% 3%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sr.Ruth Angelette OP
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (504) 488-5373

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New Orleans
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4601 Cleveland Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70119
Phone: (504) 488-4426

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Jesuit High School
New Orleans, LA



St. John Lutheran School
New Orleans, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT