Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Dominic School

Private | PK-7 | 517 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Orleans

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $189,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,220.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2013

Sub par at best. If you are in the Lakeview clique but not concerned about education this is where you go. The classes are huge and at least a grade level below other schools- something we did not realize until we saw what other kids in private schools were doing- like St. Martin's, Kehoe-France, Newman, St. Paul's. My child always received high marks and it s because the content was easy. Really he was behind other kids his age. Maybe years ago it was a good school but not today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

I attended this school from 2nd to 8th grade and, at 23, I still cringe at the thought of it. If you're not in the click with the other parents, your child will suffer. My parents were divorced and I certainly suffered for it. You won't feel a supportive, compassionate, Christian atmosphere - just Jonathan Edwards-esque tyranny. If you have any concerns, don't bother bringing it up to the principal...unless you enjoy a foul temper. Her screaming is thoroughly ingrained in my memory. The environment is exceedingly stressful and enough to keep even the brightest child from thriving.


Posted November 30, 2011

This used to be a great school but I am taking my children out for this coming school year. It has lost its edge and has fallen into the "its always been this way" trap. The standardized test scores do not reflect an advanced curriculum. Very few of its students are recognized by the Duke Talent Identification Program. The clickiness is there but I taught my kids to not let those type of things get to them. The problem with the principal not listening to parents' concerns is sooo real. It's basically her way or the highway.As long as you follow along like sheep and don't speak your mind, everything is fine and good. If you try to make any suggestions and she thinks that you may be criticizing her, watch out! Once you're on her list you might as well leave!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

I attended this school over 20 years ago (from 2nd grade until graduation) and am currently looking for schools to send my young son. I will definitely not be sending him to St. Dominic. I agree with some of the other reviews that state the school as being very "clickish". The school community consists of families who are rooted in Lakeview and this is where they send their kids. If you are not in that community, your child will not fit in properly and be accepted either by students or staff. I experienced this first-hand. I lived outside of Lakeview and my parents were definitely outsiders in the community because of it. There were many instances where I was shunned, by both faculty and students because no one knew me or my family. I can recall at least a couple of occasions where other kids were favored because their parents were close friends with faculty. I witnessed it with other kids, as well, who did not live in the area. The bottom line is that if you are looking for a place to send your child, and you are not involved in the Lakeview community, your child is more likely to have problems at this school.


Posted October 11, 2010

My daughter has been a student at this school for the past 3 years. St. Dominic school has well surpassed my expectations in all areas, including academics, leadership, teacher quality and parent involvement. There has never been a moment in time when I have questioned my decision to send my child to this school. I do beleive that St. Dominic is the best of all catholic schools in the New Orleans area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

This is a great school! Teachers work well with their students. There is always something going on where parents can be involved. I think this is one reason why some parents don't like the school, they don't have the time to be involved. Between family nights and the annual fair, the school offers many oppurtunities to meet and talk with the faculty and the principal. Through her hard work , St Dominic was one of the first schools to reopen after the hurricane. Her loyalty to St Dominic is greatly appreciated.


Posted March 17, 2010

Very difficult to keep up with. If you are a stay at home mom and have time to be involved this may be a good school for you however, I am a working mom, it s VERY difficult to keep up with the schedule especially every other Thursday early dismissal. Also the principal doesn t follow up with concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

I was extremely unhappy with St. Dominic and in paricular the principal. I did not agree with all of her policies and related to her that I was unhappy with certain things. She asked me not to come back the next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

Our son is in his second year at St Dominic and our daughter will attened next year. The staff and teachers are very good and get to know the students. I think the parents that are upset or claim that the shcool is too 'clicky' just do not like the fact that the parents must be involved. If you want the school to teach and raise your child keep looking, but if you want to be part of your childs life stop looking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

This was a tough school to come into. If you re not a part of the community for years and years, you will most likely not fit in, nor will your child. It s a very challenging school, academically and socially. Academically is great, the 'clickeshness' however starts with the parents/teachers and is carried forward by the children. Overall, good school just disappointed with the social aspect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

The St. Dominic School community is wonderful. The school is big enough to offer many opportunities for development (physically, socially and spiritually) while maintaining a small number of students per classroom/teacher. The devoted principal and excellent teachers create a great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

My first daughter just started at St. Dominic this year and we could not be happier. It offers every activity any age child might want to be exposed to with a strong desire to teach the children the importance of being kind and respectful. There is heavy parental involvement and people from various socioeconomic groups attend the school. We considered other private schools for our child but after touring St. Dominic I knew we could not do better anywhere else. Our daughter is thriving and we are really enjoying the ride so far. She is being exposed to so much positive energy daily and she is excelling in her academics with the help of the enthusiatic teachers. I recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

St. Dominic school is an excellent school! My daughter absolutely loves it! The parents are able to be so involved. The teachers and principal are amazing. There is also a great nun there named Sister Marie Jo! This school is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

Terrible people skills. I have no desire to be associated with this school in anyway anymore. The administration is absolutely horrible. Keep looking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

After hurricane Katrina we returned to New Orleans in search of a great catholic school for our son...and we found it! St. Dominic offers our son the educational beginning as well as the spiritual background needed to maintain a confident, caring, loving, young boy in today's society. We can't say enough about the staff (teachers and principle) for their hard work at maintaining the schools excellant reputation and pride after such a horrible event as Katrina. The parental involvement is outstanding and we can't help but call St. Dominic home!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 47%
Black 5% 45%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Adrianne M. LeBlanc
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (504) 486-3870

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New Orleans
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6326 Memphis Street
New Orleans, LA 70124
Phone: (504) 482-4123

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT