Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
627 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Mary's Academy (Girls) 1

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
Well, first and far most i feel this way because the academics are awful. The staff and faculty are rude and EXTREMELY discourteous. The teachers are more concerned about your social life then things that are school related. SMA is not the same, the children and ignorant with no lack of respect. The teachers give grades based on favoritism. Honors "AP" is not honors! It's just a label that is placed on each child. SMA is a waste of money and time. The sisters are even disrespectful towards parents and students.

St. Mary's Academy (Girls)
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
my child is in a honors class, no way she should be coming home with no homework.


St. Mary's Academy (Girls) 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a student
I hate this school with all my heart. ST MARYS ACADEMY IS NOT THE SAME... i currently go there and honestly this place is so sickening. the environment is so stressful and inactive. The children here have no respect at all. The teachers and the sisters of this school are so very disrespectful. I go to school everyday with stress. They find the stupidest things to argue and suspend you over. the rules here honestly make no sense at all. yes there will be rules to follow but some just dont have to be taken so far. the sports and extra activities are so unorganized, i was a cheerleader this year, we did NOTHING AT ALL. it was a big waist of my time and money. everything is just out of order here. out of all my teachers theres only one that i really find respectful and also helpful. this schools wants money every second. theres always som type of fee to pay. the school itself is soooo disgusting they need to invest in cleaning up more, theres pests everywhere. We honestly learn NOTHING, theres not just groups of students failing there classes of students failing. their grading scale is also too high to keep up with. this is my first and last year here...

St. Mary's Academy (Girls) 1

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
It is so unfortunate SMA has changed so drastically. The leadership is extremely poor, thereby displaying ineffective leadership to our children. Many of the children are quite unruly with a great lack of proper discipline. This is not the environment you want your kids in. The staff in the office on the elementary side are so unprofessional and do not display what one would expect in what is suppose to be a good religious catholic school. The bathrooms are deplorable and some of the teachers should not be in the classroom teaching our children. There are so many more negatives, which again is so unfortunate.

St. Mary's Academy (Girls) 1

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
SMA is not a school you want your daughter to attend. The academics are below par. The teachers are not certified and half of them don't know the proper way to teach students. They do not reach out to the children; they simply give grades based on favoritism. The sports teams are very unorganized. The clubs are unorganized, as well. The school is extremely money hungry while claiming to be the cheapest in the city. The office administration is awful. The women who work in the office are unorganized and have awful attitudes that neither parents nor students whom pay good money for tuition should have to deal with. SMA IS NOT WHAT IT USED TO BE. Parents, do your daughter a favor and enroll her in another school.


St. Mary's Academy (Girls) 2

Posted March 10, 2014
- a community member
St. Mary's Academy is the worst school I've been to. I've been to many different high schools because of my father's job and St. Mary's is by far the worst school. The academics are below par and the teachers are absolutely useless. They merely teach the lesson, but don't engage the students. Also, the students are very rude and disrespectful. So many of the girls here curse like sailors and love to start drama. They act like Housewives. They also fight and cannot seem to be at peace with each other. PLEASE BE AWARE that St Mary's Academy uses the voucher program which ultimately lets all type of children in; it seems that these children aren't even being screened. I have many women in my family that have graduated from here and love their school, but, SMA is not what it used to be and quite frankly, it's a waste of money.

St. Mary's Academy (Girls) 1

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
My child is a student on the elementary campus and I feel there is a lack of leadership on this campus. The campus is set in modular buildings that were meant to temporarily house students after Katrina so they are falling apart. Young students are allowed to roam the campus in pairs going to the bathrooms that are in horrible condition and are not secured. They claim the students are destroying them, but if adults were supervising bathroom breaks ..... Dismissal time is complete chaos. I was excited for my child to attend this school and after 4 years of no improvement, I can not wait to get her out of this school. Every year it gets worse!

St. Mary's Academy (Girls) 5

Posted December 19, 2013
- a community member
My little cousin attended St. Mary's for elementary school and she received a superior education! She recently moved to MS and is well ahead of her classmates. St. Mary's has done an excellent job of educating girls and preparing for successful futures!


St. Mary's Academy (Girls) 4

Posted December 03, 2013
- a teacher
I am a legacy at St. Mary's Academy and so is my daughter who is a junior. My family has graduated 26 women from St. Mary's Academy, each of whom has gone on to be successful, educated women, wives and mothers. The girls continue to benefit from a college prep curriculum that ensures their ease into college life and beyond. Many return thanking us for developing them into disciplined students who are willing to contribute their time, talent and treasure to this complicated world. Our academy can improve by upping fundraising that will ensure our sustainability into the far future. We're working on that at present. i believe in St. Mary's Academy and I support the work of the Sisters of the Holy Family in New Orleans and Venerable Henriette Delille, our visionary.

St. Mary's Academy (Girls) 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
St. Mary's Academy provides an excellent environment for the development of the entire student, giving students a superior academic experience, access to extra curricular activities allowing for development of body and mind, and an opportunity to view the world from a faith-based perspective. It provides its graduates with the foundation for successfully completing a graduate and post graduate education, for playing an active role in one's family and community, and forming life-long friendships and professional links. I am proud to have been a St. Mary's grad and encourge others to look into attending this 146 year-old institution, whose graduates exemplify excellence, professionalism, poise, and the positive development of the whole woman.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Mary's Academy (Girls)
6905 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA  70126
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (504) 245-0200
Last modified St. Mary's Academy (Girls) is a Private school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top