Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Matthew The Apostle School

Private | PK-8 | 533 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Orleans

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $168,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2012

My daughter attended St. Matthew from PreK 4 to 5th grade. She was a straight A/B student from PreK - 4th. Once she went into 5th, about 3 months into school, the problems started. Bulling from packs of mean girls, teachers who did not care, a principle who allows a teacher to roll her eyes and talk condescendingly to my husband and I during a meeting with the two of them to figure out why my daughter was struggling. The lower level teachers are great, but the Math and Spanish classes are lacking severely. Consequently, my daughter's spirit was beat down and she struggled the whole year. It is hard to hear your child explain how the teachers give her dirty looks and treat her poorly the day after I had to call the school for yet another issue (she was not aware of the phone call I made to school, either). She is at a new school and is thriving. The parents are welcoming (not cliquey like SMA) and the students are helpful and welcoming and these teachers, specifically the math teacher, truly care about the children and want to help them succeed. A number of parents pulled their kids out of this school for these same reasons. I do not recommend this school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

I would not send my child to this school. The math and spanish programs are very poor. I had to teach at home what they should have learned at school. If you have a concern they make it your issue and not the schools. When I removed my children so did many others that had issues (not surprising very similar to mine). My kids now excel at their new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

Thank you to St. Matthew the Apostle School for the great experience that my children had. Our kids say that they hope their children will attend St. Matthew one day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

The middle school Social Studies teacher is pathetic. I never in my life came across a teacher that can't handle problem students. The whole class suffers when she gets in one of her moods just because a child was acting up. She stops the teaching and tells the students to pull out the books and read because she can't take it anymore. Same for the current choir teacher. She constantly calls the vice principal because the students are acting out. She has gone as far as telling the class to go play out in the cold because I'm not teaching you. My child has had some awesome teachers with the exception of the above two. And before anyone questions me, my child is a well behaved with great grades. She was never the problem, she just suffered in her learning because of the above teacher's actions. Just want to warn the new middle school parents what they have in store for them when they get in the back building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

I have 3 grandchildren there and they love it.


Posted March 16, 2010

I went to SMA since kindegarten through 7th grade. it was wonderful, i made life long friends i know! The teachers are wonderful and put in as much effort as they can to help the students grow!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2009

Because my child gets a great education and the faculty and students are like a big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

I have only been here two years, and I love it. I easily made friends, and it was easy to fit in. Everyone was welcoming.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2008

As a former teacher at St. Matthew for several years, I have another perspective to share. Thank you to all the parents who notice and appreciate the hard work that has been put into educating your children. The teachers and principal do so much more than you know. The current principal has been fantastic in implementing new technology, improving communication between school and parents, and always challenging us to improve our curriculum and teaching methods. There are always dissatified parents, but I've noticed that those tend to be people who find it easier to just blame the school for whatever problem the child is having. It's not always the school's fault. (And by the way, having parent cliques isn't the school's fault.) I know the numerous hours of work those teachers put in and how they continuously go above and beyond for thier students. Some people simply cannot be pleased.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 6, 2008

There may have been many principals but this one is here to stay. She said at the last home and school meeting that she was offered another 2 year contract. While not all schools are perfect - not all students are either - we are willing to put our faith in this principal and work with her to make it a better school. Only if we work together can it get better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

Five different principals within 8 years, poor middle school math program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

Family oriented but VERY CLIQUE-ISH. Families with two working parents are often snubbed. The middle school program is less than desireable, the math program has been horrible and administration has been SLOW to react, Unfortunatly my child suffered because of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

I am a student at SMA I am a very proud Crusader not just because of our athletics also because of our academic achievment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2007

As a former student of SMA, I think that this school did an excellent job in preparing me for high school. I feel that I was more than prepared to make the tranistion into high school. I was in all honors classes at SMA, which as one reviewer said encompasses the entire student body (which it certiantly does not becuase the classes are very challenging), and I was in all honors classes in high school. I did not struggle with my classes and I did not go to an easy high school. I atteded Mount Carmel Academy. The education that can be recieved at SMA is an excellent one, if only the student puts out the effort needed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2007

Alot of good things going on at St Matthew. Glad to see such a strong administration and faculty. I am proud to say that my three children attend St Matthew.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

I also have changed my outlook on St. Matthew. I see that the Principal is making many changes for the better. She truly seems to care for the school and students. Most important is there is not as much written homework as last year. This leaves more time to prepare and study properly for test. My child's brain and will doesn't seem to shut down like last year because she is not cramming in so much work. I do like edline better than the homework site. Much more information! I know school has just started but I do see good changes. Let's keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

My attitude had changed about the middle school. I have been afraid that it would be just as terrible as 4th and 5th grade were for my child - but it is just the opposite. They truely care for each child and have been more than supportive by sending constant information home. No more wondering - I know it is a solid program. Thank you!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

The community atmosphere of this school is great. My children have shown steady increases in standardized test scores since starting this school. They are receiving the highest degree of care and a top-notch education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

Not me! My child was not academically prepared for high school. He had many adjustment problems but was an honor student at St. Matthew like everyone else in the student body!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

I am glad that our children attended St. Matthew the Apostle School. They had a positive experience and did well in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 47%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 45%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dennis Panepinto
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (504) 738-7985

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New Orleans
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10021 Jefferson Highway
New Orleans, LA 70123
Phone: (504) 737-4604

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT