Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Norco Primary

Public | PK-2 | 360 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2009

I attended this school when I was a child and it does not seem to have lived up to my expectations as a parent. I have a child who has struggled with ADD. The teachers from pre-k to 3rd grade have just passed her by because she is not a behavior problem. They completely overlook the fact that she is not keeping up with the other children in class. The teachers and the principal do not seem interested in helping her or giving her accommodations for her special needs. It's sad to see what this school has become.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2006

There is not one bad thing I can say about this school except that the quality of food that is served is not great. Other than that everyone from the principal to the janitors really is concerned about each child. I do alot of volunteering, but overall there are not that many parents getting involved. Which is critical for a school to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2004

I have 2 children at this school and have had great results. The teachers are very concerned about the children and the principal is very dedicated. Discipline is always a challenge at this age and the school does the best it can with what the government allows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have never witnessed any discrimination or racism of any kind in this school. I am a working parent and I am very involved with the sons school. He has been attending this school for 4 years and has received an excellent education. We live local to the school because it is a good school and neighborhood. The only problem that I have seen is that there is not enough parental involvement in the school. It is always the same parents at the school volunteering. To make the school more successful, more new parent involvement is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

I have had two children attend this school and if I had a choice to send them some where else,they would have been on the first flight out.The principal at this school does not have any consideration for the students or thier families. There is alot of prejudice in this school and I do beleive that alot of children will not get the best learning only because of who they are or where their from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

This is supposed to be a good school but I'm not convinced that my kids are learning what they need to be learning. How can they learn if every time you turn around they are getting out for a day or half-day 2 or 3 times a month. In order for kids to learn they need to be in school and taught things that are pratical for every day life.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 49%
Black 16% 45%
Two or more races 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 3%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Steven Guitterrez
Fax number
  • (985) 764-2875

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5th Street
Norco, LA 70079
Website: Click here
Phone: (985) 764-2787

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT