Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Tucker Memorial Elementary School

Public | 1-2 | 675 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2012

My child was at Tucker for two years. The school is horrible. I glad it was only two years. I wish I had started homeschooling. Teachers could care less. Everything my child learned was from me teaching my child in the evening. I 100% agree with the previous post. Please read it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

This is a terrbile school. Recess is restricted to 50 seconds per activity and if you fail at let's say Jump Rope, they tell you to move on. The children are not allowed to talk in the lunch room except to the person to their right. They are given 15 minutes to eat lunch with no ability to remotely socialize. I understand learning rules, and things that children need to learn are important, but this school is a terrible school. With no options other than Homeschooling, I am considering withdrawing my child and ensuring he learns as he is supposed to and is allowed to be a child....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2011

Tucker Elementary is a great school. I have had 2 children attend and 1 child who will attend next year. The children come first at the school. I am very impressed with the way things are done there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

I removed my children from this school and perrin. Total lack of respect for the children in their care,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

The principal and most teachers are not interested in the children and are very unapprochable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2007

I was quite disappointed in the fruition of this school. Although my child is an honor roll student and has yet to be in any trouble, I found her teacher to be fairly uninvolved and unapproachable. It has been brought to my attention on several occasions that my child was not allowed to communicate with the teacher in class. There seem to be many children attending with behavioral problems which encumbers and abates the other children's learning process. There was also a sub conducting class copiously and, in my opinion, helped cause the rate of learning to be much slower than I anticipated. I am currently seeking alternative means of education for my children as I do not wish them to attend this school again. I would rate this school a 3-4 out of 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

Tucker school has been an outstanding school. My child enjoys reading as a result of the methods of this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

Tucker Memorial has to be the best experience my children have had in any school. The Principal Mr. Williams is a real bonus. He is caring and helpful in any situation. The students look up to him. The teachers are patient, kind, and you get the feeling they are there because they love to watch children learn and grow. I have not had a better experiance with any school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 47%
Black 32% 45%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Amber Gardner
Fax number
  • (985) 386-9663

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

310 South 3rd Street
Ponchatoula, LA 70454
Website: Click here
Phone: (985) 386-6449

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Joseph School
Ponchatoula, LA




Oaks Montessori School
Ponchatoula, LA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT