Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-2
Public district
Ponchatoula, LA
Students enrolled: 675
 

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tucker Memorial Elementary School 1

Posted October 09, 2012
- a parent
My child was at Tucker for two years. The school is horrible. I glad it was only two years. I wish I had started homeschooling. Teachers could care less. Everything my child learned was from me teaching my child in the evening. I 100% agree with the previous post. Please read it.

Tucker Memorial Elementary School 1

Posted August 15, 2012
- a parent
This is a terrbile school. Recess is restricted to 50 seconds per activity and if you fail at let's say Jump Rope, they tell you to move on. The children are not allowed to talk in the lunch room except to the person to their right. They are given 15 minutes to eat lunch with no ability to remotely socialize. I understand learning rules, and things that children need to learn are important, but this school is a terrible school. With no options other than Homeschooling, I am considering withdrawing my child and ensuring he learns as he is supposed to and is allowed to be a child....


Tucker Memorial Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2011
- a parent
Tucker Elementary is a great school. I have had 2 children attend and 1 child who will attend next year. The children come first at the school. I am very impressed with the way things are done there.

Tucker Memorial Elementary School 1

Posted March 02, 2010
- a parent
I removed my children from this school and perrin. Total lack of respect for the children in their care,

Tucker Memorial Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
The principal and most teachers are not interested in the children and are very unapprochable.


Tucker Memorial Elementary School 3

Posted May 13, 2007
- a parent
I was quite disappointed in the fruition of this school. Although my child is an honor roll student and has yet to be in any trouble, I found her teacher to be fairly uninvolved and unapproachable. It has been brought to my attention on several occasions that my child was not allowed to communicate with the teacher in class. There seem to be many children attending with behavioral problems which encumbers and abates the other children's learning process. There was also a sub conducting class copiously and, in my opinion, helped cause the rate of learning to be much slower than I anticipated. I am currently seeking alternative means of education for my children as I do not wish them to attend this school again. I would rate this school a 3-4 out of 10.

Tucker Memorial Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2004
- a parent
Tucker school has been an outstanding school. My child enjoys reading as a result of the methods of this school

Tucker Memorial Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2004
- a parent
Tucker Memorial has to be the best experience my children have had in any school. The Principal Mr. Williams is a real bonus. He is caring and helpful in any situation. The students look up to him. The teachers are patient, kind, and you get the feeling they are there because they love to watch children learn and grow. I have not had a better experiance with any school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tucker Memorial Elementary School
310 South 3rd Street, Ponchatoula, LA  70454
(985) 386-6449
Last modified Tucker Memorial Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-2
Tucker Memorial Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top