Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Prairieville, LA
Students enrolled: 599

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Galvez Middle School 3

Posted July 02, 2013
- a parent
My children use to attend this school and I was so happy when they left for high school. I always thought that it was a decent school, that was before the new Principal. I never voiced my opinion to such a click school, I just wanted my children out with no problems. Both of my children were honor students and participated in band. I accepted how the Principal yelled at students to be quiet at all of the functions, yet talked and giggled throughout my children's whole band concert to another parent which had nothing to do with the concert..Anyway,I hope it wasn't, being that they didn't hear any of it and were laughing. I just cannot accept what I read regarding the janitor. Are you people serious? First of all the cops should have been called on the student regardless of him taking a leap test. He has no right to do that and you may have saved him from growing up to be a pervert.or brat, had you given him consequences. Why did he have a phone with camera during test anyway? Against State Rules! I HAVE TOO MUCH RESPECT FOR THE JANITOR. He is the only one I gave a gift to when my last kid left school.He has been there forever and never gets recognized for his hard work. I'm MAD

Galvez Middle School 1

Posted May 12, 2012
- a parent
My 13 year old honor roll student went from being a happy outgoing person to someone with a broken spirit, terrified to go to school because of the bullying. She has always been and still is a respectful kid, well liked by teachers. There were several instances where she was cornered by kids (the same ones each time), and reported it to the principal, who did nothing. When I met with fr principal, she decided to look into the problem and never got back to me. When I followed up, she explained that the kids did admit to bullying, but still chose to not hold them accountable. During Leap testing, an 8th grade boy snapped a pic with his phone of the janitor using the bathroom, pants to his ankles. The janitor was furious, and wanted to call the police. The principle asked him to not follow through be side it would affect Leap scores. The kid was not written up. She has allowed kids from other schools to attend our school dances, even though it's against rules. There have been so many fights that she chooses not to report. My oldest daughter attended GMS and didn't have these issues. The day this new principle took over, it became a nightmare.


Galvez Middle School 1

Posted April 27, 2012
- a parent
Horrible bullying problem at this school. The administration puts the blame on the victim. This is the worst administration I have ever seen. My child has been through Kindergarten to 6th grade with NO problems ever. Within 4 months at this school, she was suspended 3 times. The principal, assistant principal and guidance counselor are a joke. Unless you were born and raised in this town, you are treated like garbage. Next year we are going private.

Galvez Middle School 2

Posted June 13, 2010
- a parent
This used to be a wonderful school but it, like most organization, is only as good as the leadership and this principal truly is out of control. She refuses to implement any activities to ensure all are engaged in learning, such as science fairs and encouraging the setup of clubs. If you are part of the elite group, good for you, otherwise I would tell you to run!

Galvez Middle School 5

Posted June 12, 2010
- a parent
The principal, assistant principal, and staff at GMS are so wonderful! They treat the children with love and respect, and receive it in return. High educational standards, safe environment, lots of extra-curriculars, and a great group of kids! I feel very blessed that my daughters are able to attend this school.


Galvez Middle School 1

Posted August 25, 2009
- a parent
Well, since the wonderful principal left last year, this school has been going downhill in many ways. It has become like a military type environment and all the positive energy that this school used to possess is now replaced with negative energy due to the new principal and the way she is running this school. My child used to love it there and now he is very unhappy with the whole day. I am just glad that this is his last year. We truly miss the old happy environment that used to be what GMS was known for ... mainly due to the great principal who set the tone but is no longer there.

Galvez Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2008
- a parent
As a mother of a 5th grader with LD I have been pleasantly surprised by the flexibility of the principal and assistant principle and the willingness to work with me. It is obvious they try to keep the school positive and fun. We are looking forward to 3 more great years here!

Galvez Middle School 5

Posted April 23, 2008
- a student
I love Galvez Middle School. I am a 7th grader and I do not want to leave. Not only is the dtaff great, but the pricipal is so much fun! We have a lot of fun at Galvez and the band is the best! We are going to State Festival! Go band! The football teams are great! (we are the champs) Galvez Middle School rocks!;)


Galvez Middle School 5

Posted November 14, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Galvez Middle School 5

Posted June 02, 2005
- a parent
We just finished the school year and my daughter, Bailey, who will be an eighth grader next year, was sad to see it end. I am very happy that her experience at Glavez has been so positive. Her father & I are very proud of her hard work & good marks. We would like to thank all of the great teachers at the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Galvez Middle School
42018 Louisiana 933, Prairieville, LA  70769
(225) 391-6350
Last modified Galvez Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Galvez Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top