Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Galvez Primary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2012

This is an all around great school!! The teachers are excellent and their approach on teaching is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

The teachers get the job done! Zero tolerance and Parents seem to truly be involved and care about their childrens progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I enjoyed the time both of my girls were at GPS. There teachers were wounderful. The ladies of the lunchroom were also good to all the children. The school could have used a little more time outside of the school time for appreciation, awards, graduations for the new 5th graders also needing to put more into the news papers showing the schools appreciation for the school's teachers, students and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2008

Both my kids attended Galvez Primary School, my daughter is in 3rd grade right now and my son has moved on to Galvez Middle but , I love this school, especially since Ms Capello became the principal last year. The teachers are great, Ms Capello is a very caring person, you can see her walking in the cafeteria at lunchtime or at the student drop off, she's much more involved than the old principal, or so it would seem, and I think it makes a huge difference. I am so glad that my children were sent to this school. I love everything about it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

Fantastic school! Low class sizes, excellent teachers, very well run. I'm very impressed...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

I have a daughter that has been at Galvez Primary since Kindergarten. She will go into 2nd grade at the start of the '07/08 school year. She is a wonderful student and is excels at GPS. Anyway, I was offered a chance to move to Donaldsonville and have my child attend Ascension Catholic Primary. I must say that after speaking with personnel at Ascension Catholic and finding they were unable to answer the simplest of my questions, I decided that my child would definitely be cheated out of a real education if I were to take her out of any public school in Ascension Parish. They are the best schools around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

Galvez Primary is a good school. Though the administration leaves very much to be desired. Some of the faculty are great, although some are left with much to be desired. I would rather put my child in private school than have to deal with the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2006

Academics is great, but there is no free time, to freedom to socialize even before school, and every moment is rigidly regulated. I would move now but my son has developed close friendships that would damage him emotionally and this is currently more important. no art or music, very minimal extra curicular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

As a teacher and parent of three children that have attended Galvez Primary School I feel fortunate. Our administration, teachers, and parents have enabled our students to achieve excellent testing results. The teachers continue their education by seeking National Board Certification, Master's degrees, and additional workshop training. The level of parent involvement is incredible! Every day we have parents helping in all aspects of school life. The teachers are very fortunate because parent volunteers arrive just to help create learning tools for students. Every day students have forty-five minutes of enrichment. Enrichment classes include French language lessons, training for the President's Fitness Challenge, health and safety, physical education with a wide variety of equipment for regular and special education children, fitness games, and movement with music. Student are involved in 4-H on a school, parish, and regional level and they can create seafood/meat/poultry/egg dishes. Go Galvez Primary! Thank you!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 29, 2005

I have had two children go through this school. Although they did get an excellent education, the teachers were great and did a wonderful job, the administration, mainly the prinicipal leaves much to be desired in support of parents and her staff. I found her to be very judgemental and callous toward my childs favorite teacher who in turn left the school which was a disservice to so many future students at the school. Overall I feel that my children got a great education but I do feel there needs to be great changes in administration at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

I have two children in this school. They are very high on the academic scale and my children have been very fortunate with the teachers that they have had. Each of their teachers have recognized my children's intelligence and took the time to recommend TAG testing each year. This told me that they do pay attention. My only complaint is that my children strive for honor roll each nine weeks and the school offers a skating party to those students and unfortunately if the teachers or the office staff do not hand out the slips for the parents, the children miss out and I think they need that motivation for parties or honor roll breakfasts to keep them striving for good grades. It is a treat for them. Also, I have only seen Galvez Primary in the local paper once during the four years my children have been there. I think that is also motivation for the children to get involved in extracurricular activities and to be on honor roll. Thanks!!!


Posted May 31, 2003

When we 1st moved into this district we had not even considered the schools. Much to our delight and both of our sons, they have had a wonderful experience at this school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 47%
Black 9% 45%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16093 Henderson Bayou Road
Prairieville, LA 70769
Phone: (225) 391-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lakeside Primary School
Prairieville, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT