Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Galvez Primary School 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Terrific school! The staff is amazing and the teacher are outstanding! Very involved with the kids and communicated with me almost on a daily basis if there were any problems.

Galvez Primary School 5

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in 3rd grade and she is doing great. She just transferred this year and she adjusted perfectly. Her teachers did everything to make sure the adjustment was smooth for her and got her on the same page as the rest of the right away. Everyone us nice and overall I have no complaints. She's made honor roll this whole year. :) one happy Mom right here.


Galvez Primary School 5

Posted March 15, 2012
- a parent
This is an all around great school!! The teachers are excellent and their approach on teaching is wonderful.

Galvez Primary School 5

Posted April 09, 2011
- a parent
The teachers get the job done! Zero tolerance and Parents seem to truly be involved and care about their childrens progress.

Galvez Primary School 4

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I enjoyed the time both of my girls were at GPS. There teachers were wounderful. The ladies of the lunchroom were also good to all the children. The school could have used a little more time outside of the school time for appreciation, awards, graduations for the new 5th graders also needing to put more into the news papers showing the schools appreciation for the school's teachers, students and faculty.


Galvez Primary School 5

Posted September 28, 2008
- a parent
Both my kids attended Galvez Primary School, my daughter is in 3rd grade right now and my son has moved on to Galvez Middle but , I love this school, especially since Ms Capello became the principal last year. The teachers are great, Ms Capello is a very caring person, you can see her walking in the cafeteria at lunchtime or at the student drop off, she's much more involved than the old principal, or so it would seem, and I think it makes a huge difference. I am so glad that my children were sent to this school. I love everything about it

Galvez Primary School 5

Posted August 21, 2007
- a parent
Fantastic school! Low class sizes, excellent teachers, very well run. I'm very impressed...

Galvez Primary School 5

Posted April 30, 2007
- a parent
I have a daughter that has been at Galvez Primary since Kindergarten. She will go into 2nd grade at the start of the '07/08 school year. She is a wonderful student and is excels at GPS. Anyway, I was offered a chance to move to Donaldsonville and have my child attend Ascension Catholic Primary. I must say that after speaking with personnel at Ascension Catholic and finding they were unable to answer the simplest of my questions, I decided that my child would definitely be cheated out of a real education if I were to take her out of any public school in Ascension Parish. They are the best schools around!


Galvez Primary School 1

Posted March 01, 2007
- a parent
Galvez Primary is a good school. Though the administration leaves very much to be desired. Some of the faculty are great, although some are left with much to be desired. I would rather put my child in private school than have to deal with the administration.

Galvez Primary School 3

Posted April 30, 2006
- a parent
Academics is great, but there is no free time, to freedom to socialize even before school, and every moment is rigidly regulated. I would move now but my son has developed close friendships that would damage him emotionally and this is currently more important. no art or music, very minimal extra curicular.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Galvez Primary School
16093 Henderson Bayou Road, Prairieville, LA  70769
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (225) 391-6600
Last modified Galvez Primary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top