Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rayville High School

Public | 9-12 | 482 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2009

I love this school!!! I wish I were there now. Rayville is were you want your kids to be. Promise you, they will pass with excellent grades and more education!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2009

I am a junior at RHS, but unfortunately will moving schools at the end of this year. I have been a part of FCS, better known as fellow christian students. and I also played sports. I will miss it so much. It was a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2007

This is my sons first year at RHS and I am very satisfied. It is my alma mater so its only fair that he gets the same top rated education as I did. I had a great foundation and so will he. Everyone there is like family and that is what you need at a school, faculty members who nurture and care for the students and will do whatever it takes to ensure that no child is left behind. Rayville High(academics/extracurricular activities) has a lot to offer students who are willing to take advantage of the opportunity to obtain a good education. I highly recommend that any parent admit their child to this school. *****and four thumbs up.smile! Go Hornets!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2006

If I were a parent I would want my child attending this school. This school offers very good things. I just recently graduated from Rayville High and learned many things. I love this school with every thing it has. My favorite was the dance team, which I was apart of for 4 years. Going to this school was a great opportunity. The teachers are great and our principal keep us inline. There were hard times and good times. The good times is what I remember most. I love this High School and miss it dearly. The best thing about it is having the best guidance counciler direct you in the right path. I want to thank her with everything I have. Thanks Rayville High School. You have taught me great things.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 27, 2005

I think RHS is a great school! It has been growing for the last two years that my child has been there. We are very fortunate to have a highly quailfied teachers and administration. The quailty of the academic programs are very good. The also have music, art, sports and many extracurricular activites for students to choose from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

Rayville High School is top notch. Many of the recent graduates are in college or on their way to college, and this years grads are on their way as well. Going to college is much easier after experiencing the great classes and administration atRayville. And not only does Rayville exceed academically, but it's also successful in extracurricular activities. Rayville has an excellent band, choir, and athletic teams. And more importantly, the coaches and band/choir leaders want to see their players and musicians succeed academically and beyond. Great teachers and coaches and students...how can you top that? Besides working on the school and making it look better, because Rayville is doing that too.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 24, 2005

I am a student at RHS and I feel like it should be given a ten from a one to ten scale. We have, as far as I know, the highest academic scores in the parish. If a student needs help, then the teachers will gladly help the student and help them until their problem is resolved. The students are allowed to choose from art, band, and other electives. They can also choose from a wide variety of sports. Thank you for listening to what i had to say. I love my school, and I think other people should too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2004

Rayville High School is an excellent school, and the administration is of the highest caliber. Dr. Georgia Ineichen is one of the finest principals in the state. She deeply cares about her students, and she has worked tirelessly to build one of the best faculties in the area. Since Dr. Ineichen has returned to RHS, the positive perception of the school has dramatically increased due to her continual efforts to raise public awareness of the school's many achievements. Rayville High School can take pride in being one of the few schools to have no employees teaching outside their area of certification; the school has consistently improved its accountability scores; and this school has raised ACT scores above the state average. Rayville High Scool is a fine example of a public institution that is constantly working to improve itself for the benefit of its sudents and its community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 21, 2004

The Principal, Dr. Georgia Ineichen seems professional, but is not. She likes to use words like thug toward the students, which is quite sad and very unprofessional. She walks fast at all times, as if she has something to do. But this is not the case. She just doesn t have time for the students, and the teachers. The students and the teachers are afraid of saying the truth. Students feel repressed, and most of the teachers fear unemployment. Some teachers challenged Dr. Georgia Ineichen, but they are not longer working there. And I wonder why. Well, that s quite an euphemistic observation of the reality that the school has lived since Dr. Georgia Ineichen became the principal of Rayville High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

127 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

127 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
18%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
23%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
46%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 45%
White 46% 47%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

193 Louisiana 3048
Rayville, LA 71269
Phone: (318) 728-3296

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Riverfield Academy
Rayville, LA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT