Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ringgold Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 249 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2011

My child went to school up till this year. I pulled him out and he will be going to a private school until I cannot afford to pay for it any longer. He had nothing but trouble since Pre-K with the teacher, kindergarten with another student, that incident was swept under the rug and the teacher retired after that and this year with the assault and the faculty doing nothing to protect my child. All their concern is the LEAP testing and how they score and how the school looks, decorations. They start studying for LEAP after Christmas and nothing else. If you value your child's education and safety do not send them here if at all possible. Castor is only 5 miles down the road. Get in that district. Much better school all around. My child is an A-B student and did very well on the LEAP but Ringgold will not benefit from it. I also have a special needs child and it has been a fight from the first day. She is in high school and will graduate in 2 years. Not moving her unless it is necessary. She is watched very closely. I will say that for the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2008

I am very pleased with the education my child is getting at RES. My child is in 2nd grade this year (08-09), and the teachers are wonderful. They are very helpful and care about my child. Also, my friend has a specail needs child and they are so good with him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

We have recently enrolled our two children in 1st grade and pre-K and are extremely pleased with the principal, teachers, and staff. Compared to the private school my oldest daughter attended last year, the environment at Ringgold Elementary is much more welcoming and responsive to our concerns. Whenever we have encountered any difficulties, the teachers were quick to address and resolve the issues. Our children are extremely happy and doing extremely well, both socially and academically. As, a certified school counselor, I would never allow my children to remain in an environment that did not nurture our children's natural desire to learn. Perhaps, we should all work collectively to influence change where needed and continue to support and encourage the works of good that are already taking place. In my professional and personal opinion, the Ringgold Elementary staff deserve recognition for the work they do for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

My child is a student of Ringgold Elementary and already we are struggling. The 2006-07 school year has just started and here we go again. I wish we had the means to put our child in another school. A school that cares. Ringgold seems to only worry about the few lucky and popular kids. I agree with the last review entered in here, a child with any problems will have a horrible experience here. Its a shame to live in a nice rural area and have the problems we are now having. Now I see why so many local kids go to the private schools that are offered around this area. Maybe somewhere down the road someone will want to pick up the ball and gets things to changing at Ringgold. I have heard really good things about the new high school principal. I just hope it continues. A worried mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2005

My children went to school here for almost 5 yrs. During which time we were very involved and kept up with our childrens education. While at this school we saw first hand that a child with disabilities could be overlooked. It was for this reason we pulled our kids out of the situation and have a much more concerned and dedicated school only a few miles away. We repeatedly had meeting on top of meeting when all we ever ask of the school was to provide our child with the modications that by law were to be implimented for his education. we tried our best and so did our children but feel the school let us down in more ways than one. All I can say to the parents of children still attending Ringgold is good luck and keep your eyes open, our children are our future. Sincerely, A very proud parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2004

I am a graduate of ringgold. I graduated in 2002. Ringgold is not the best school in the world, but it's certainly not the worst either. I don't think that it is that the teachers don't care; more or less that the students could care less. The parents in ringgold should also stand up and get involved. There have been countless number of times where my friends would get in trouble and their parents would act surprised everytime. Like i said, i graduated from there and i'm fine. In college and doing great. The kids need to apply themseleves and the teachers should force the kids to do so, along with the parents. You can't blame your children's failure on one person when you are sometime the cause of it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 14, 2004

At least the band director is good. I would say he is the best in Northern Louisiana, but that would be an understatement. If only he had more to work with. I must say that with the proper leadership and funds, Ringgold could be turned around. We will see what hapens in the near future, but there is a definate need for more parent/school interaction. The parents just don't care. I see a good start with what the band director is trying to do there, but hopefully his actions will spread throughout the rest of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2003

Ringgold High School is a disgrace. I would never in my life send my child to that school because it is the most untactful school in the entire state. The only purpose for Ringgold High School is to babysit kids from 8:00-3:15. They learn nothing to prepare them for college, nor do they have many extracurricular activities to keep them off of the streets. The teachers don't even care about the students anymore. And I won't even start on the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 58% 45%
White 41% 49%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Donald Calloway
Fax number
  • (318) 894-2912

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4044 Bienville Road
Ringgold, LA 71068
Phone: (318) 894-2911

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Bienville High School
Bienville, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT