Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hazel Park/Hilda Knoff School

Public | PK-5 | 403 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2013

This is my child's first year in school. So far I have been greatly disappointed with the pre-k staffs treatment of students and attitude toward the children and parents! Some are quite aggressive with the children. I've witnessed children being grabbed and pulled very aggressively and even yelled at! How extremely inappropriate and UNEXCEPTABLE to treat children in such a manner especially pre-schoolers! Thankfully my child's teacher is reasonable enough. However she is very passive and aloof when ever I asked something as simple as how my child's first day went I received a very short and vague answer. "Everyone had a good day" then turned around with her back towards me to curt me off completely disengaged and uninterested in taking to me. My fianc has mentioned moving I think I will press the issue to try and get my child to a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

I went to Hazel Park. It was ok they really didnt pay attention to the students that much. A lot of kids got pick on over there. They took the orchestra out of the school (mainly violins) when I was in the 3rd grade. It's a shame about everything.


Posted June 14, 2010

I've taught in numerous schools in the US as well as abroad. I can confidently say that Hazel Park is one of the best learning environments I have ever been privileged to experience. The teachers are constantly on a quest to improve their practice and truly care about the students they serve. The principal has led the school to some of the highest scores of a regular pubic school in JP. I would send my own child here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 12, 2010

I am extremely disappointed with this school.My child has been an honor roll student since K5 and in 1st and 2nd grade she went to christian school where the trend continued.She attended Hazel Park for the 1st time in 3rd grade and was accused of threatning another student-teacher did not hear this it was told to her by the other child who never liked my child. It was later dismissed. Now she is in 4th grade and it has been a year of hell since school started.That ridiculous tracker imposed by the principal has good kids getting detentions for forgetting books in their cubbies. The response is they need to learn responsibility. My child was also forced into signing a confession to an offense that she didn't even comitt,because she was scared to get a detention. After having a meeting with the principle the teacher changed her story.I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Hazel Park Elementary is such a rewarding and enriching school for my two sons, one of whom has a 504 plan due to his ADHD. The principal is hard working and the teachers are very involved and willing to help in my experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

Both my girls have went to HP. since Kindergarten. They each have had quality teachers who teach values as well as lessons. Of course each child is so different from each other where one excels in one area the other excels in another area and the school seems to balance it out so the child is well rounded. If you are moving into this area then I would strongly recommend Hazel Park for your K-5th. grader. The only downside of this school is the lack of parent involvement. I don't know what it would take for more parents to get involved with their child's education. We have PTO meetings with the children performing and that seems to be the only time parents come to the school. I would imagine other schools all over have this same problem. Our principal is truly a leader that has a heart of a mom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2004

My two sons both attended HPHK from Pre-K through 5th grade, with 7 years between. Both boys had excellent experiences there. If exceptional ability exists in a student, it is identified early on, giving the child an opportunity to experience a gifted and/or talented learning environment. HPHK's current principal (Mrs. Karen Bucher) is dedicated, fair, and readily available for communication with parents. There were many teachers still employed there who taught me years ago, and were still there to teach my children. I highly recommend HPHK. It is a safe, secure and enriching school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2003

Hazel Park/Hilda Knoff is a terrific school. The principal as well as the teachers are wonderful. The school has a good structured environment. It is now being renovated with new hallway floors and ceilings. The office is being redone and expanded. The bathrooms were renovated last year. The school has a lot of great qualities. The PTO is strong and there are extra cirricular activities for the children. There is high recgonition for good grades and good conduct every nine weeks. My daughter, now in 5th grade has a folder full of certificates from HP going back to kindergarten. My son is just starting his journey through HP and I'm proud that he will be there through 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2003

As parents of 2 young daughters I am proud to say this school is a part of their childhood and learning experience. The teachers as well as the principal thrive to excel each student to achieve the best possible education their little minds can handle. We chose this school over our local school due to the educational challenges this school provides. This school gets an A+ in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2003

I am satisfied that my grandchildren are getting a quality academic education, and proud of my kids for providing supervised activities away from school after they have done their homework!


Posted November 9, 2003

My older son, age 13 and currently in the eighth grade, attended Hazel Park-Hilda Knoff school from Kindergarten through the fifth grade. My younger son, age 8, is currently in the third grade there, and has also attended Hazel Park since Kindergarten. I think this is a great school, and I am very pleased with the education that my children have received there. We are so fortunate to have such a wonderful faculty and staff, as well as a great group of parents who volunteer their time in and around the school and do so much for the school. My children have both had nothing but positive experiences here. My son looks forward to going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2003

My daughter attended this school during her second grade year. I was extremely dissappointed. There were no extracurricular activites, the library was poorly stocked and the overall appeareance was uninviting. My daughter made straight 'A's' and there was absolutly no recognition program for her hard work. Because of this schools performance, our family moved back to Dallas.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 45%
White 40% 47%
Hispanic 7% 4%
Two or more races 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Meredith Lagasse
Fax number
  • (504) 738-9153

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8809 Jefferson Highway
River Ridge, LA 70123
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 737-6163

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Rita School
Harahan, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT