Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Glen View Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 647 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

My son is a special education student at GVE. I love the level of care and support that he receives from the school staff, including the teachers, principal, nurse, and even the friendly and thoughtful secretaries! You can tell they love their job there and love their kids. The principal is very supportive of special Ed students which is, unfortunately, a rarity in schools. I only wish the level of support at GVE continued into CSE. CSE has developed into a good school, GVE spoils you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

I agree that this is a horrible school. My child attended this school for a short time. The day he came home and told me he was not allowed to drink water because someone in the class was talking was the day I removed him from that school!!! That has been five years ago so nothing has changed, just a dump of a school that treat the kids like its a military academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

This school is horrible. I would'nt send a dog here.. I have had several occasions where I considered hiring a lawyer or calling Bill O'reilly.. The only advocate for the kids at this school is the parents, SO LISTEN TO YOUR KIDS! My son came home one day telling me his teacher said "If you kids don't shut up now, you will get no water break tomorrow, all day" cmon! You go to jail for not watering an animal on a hot day... FIX THIS PROBLEM or I suspect there will be great and varying prices to pay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

Excellent programs, great teachers and excellent teacher/parent interactions! So glad thaqt my children attend Glenview!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

2 of my kids have gone through Glen View and I am about to send a third. The teachers work hard and the principal is fantastic. They just need a better playground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

Glen View is one of the best schools in Ruston. Most of the teachers seem to be great, but there have been a few things that I do not approve of. However, my child seems to be happy, and seems to be making progress academically. As a working mom, I am pretty satisfied with the education she is receiving there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

I agree with all the reviews . A- my son is doing great at Glenview. I think the staff works great with one another. I do believe they should focus more on art. There simply isnt enough art for the students. I also agree on too many students per teacher. But overall Glenview is a great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I love Glenview. I think Mrs. Mangum has brought exactly what this school needs. We finally have the right mix of teachers and great leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

Glenveiw is a great school my son stays on the honor roll.The teachers their are great.My son also plays basketball for the school and Mr.Huey the baskeball coach is not only a great coach but also a good mentor towards the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Glen View Elementary is a great school. The new principal is doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Glenview Elementary has the best teachers in LIncoln Parish. It is a great staff with a fabulous principal. They all seem to work together as a team. They are very loving and caring toward the children. Their best interest is the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

I attended Glenview as a child and received an education that surpassed all others. However, now that I have two children there, I feel that the teachers and principal are less than qualified. Education is supposed to improve as the years go by and more experience is gained. This school is not what it once was and definitely not worth the trouble it took to enroll from another district. My children, even though they are still 'A' students, were better off where they were.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

My son is doing wonderful at Glenview. The teachers are great .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

This is the best Public School In Lincoln Parish
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

I am a student teacher at Glen View Elementary. The teachers at this school are excellent they go above and beyond to help the student exceed all expectations. Students at this school are loved greatly. Any parent would want their studnent to experience the education that this school provides.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2007

Glenview is a great school. The principal, Ms. Simoneaux, really cares about the kids and works with the parents to make sure the kids get a good education. My child's teacher has also been great. She is a loving teacher, yet also firm with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

I did my student teaching at GlenView, and I completely disagree with the other post on here. I have observed or taught in most of the classes at the school, and have found nothing but qualified teachers that have the children's interest at heart. The lack of parental involvement in some grades is a concern, but it is not due to the teachers or administration.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 4, 2005

Horrible principal...His inability to run this school with a stern, but kind heart, shows in some of the teachers who do not seem enjoy teaching our children. But, I have to say that there are a few really good teachers, as well. The school environment is cold and disjointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 47%
Black 39% 45%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lisa Mangum
Fax number
  • (318) 255-5744

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1601 Bittersweet Avenue
Ruston, LA 71270
Phone: (318) 255-5724

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT