Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Saline High School

Public | PK-12 | 342 students

 

Be sure to visit

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

I am a graduate from the class of '74, I must say it was a challenge, but a fair school. There were definitely some teachers there at the time that really cared about you and wanted you to succeed in life. Saline has become a great school and have some of the best teachers that North Louisiana has to offer.


Posted April 23, 2009

While I was a student there the teachers were able to keep a close eye on me and my education! The benefit of a small school!


Posted February 15, 2009

As a graduate of this school, I can't recall how often I have been proud of that fact. Never in the 11 years I was there, did I have a problem with the administration. Saline is a very goal driven learning environment. I will oneday send my kids there. I can't imagine anyother scenario.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2007

The quality of schools is an extremely important factor as I contemplate returning to northern Louisiana from a midwestern state. SHS is an excellent school where the teachers care about students and education. They do a superior job in preparing students to succeed academically in university. The rural, small school atmosphere is a plus!


Posted September 26, 2007

Saline High School is a school where students want to be and teachers never want to leave. We have a devoted faculty and staff and a group of the greatest students in the state, perhaps the nation. Anyone that thinks our school does not do an excellent job of teaching and that the teachers do not care is cordially invited to come and sit in my classroom for a day or two or as long as you like. I think you will change your mind.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 20, 2007

I think saline high School is an excellent school. I know this because I am a student there in the 11th grade and the few years that I've been here has been great,I've learned more and meet lots of friends, and the teachers there are excellent and teaches with love and care. That's why I think Saline High School is a great school and I should know because I am currently a student there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2007

I thin they underestimate many children here. They do not take the time to prepare these kids for college and that is why only 20% of kids make it through college
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

As a parent of three children and now grandparent of 5 grandchildren who have attended or now attending this school, I know that this school is the best in our parish. As a teacher at this school I know it is the leading academic school in our parish and leads north Louisiana in the use of leading edge technology. Each teacher has a SMART board and projector as well as computers for students to use. Two teachers are National Board Certified teachers and three others are working for this certification. The school has been a member of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools for 100 years this year. Students are offered a variety of extracurricular activities such as BETA clubs, 4-H, FCCLA, FFA, cheerleading, basketball, and track. Music is offered to Pre-K through 6th and online classes are offered to high school. Parents are very involved in our school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2005

This is a great school. The faculty and staff go out of their way to help students and parents with anything. There is a low drop out rate. They even offer after school tutoring programs that are free for students. The school offers many subjects-even on-line subjects such as foreign languages. They also offer sports activities and other club organizations that are great. I am greatful that my child attends this great school and that I teach there. I reccommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2005

I think this school is a great school. They personnel are freindly and helpful. It has a low drop out rate and offers many subjects even subjects through vitural schools. It offers free after-school tutoring programs for most grades and subjects. Student achievement is great according to the state's LEAP and IOWA tests. I am glad that my child attends this school because he is learning in a family-like atmosphere. I would reccommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

This is a superior academic school with many highly qualified teachers. All four of my children attend, as did I, and the education they receive is second to none. One look at the test scores and school report card for Saline High School clearly shows that the faculty and staff are doing an outstanding job of preparing our children for success. Being a rural school, music, art and sports are somewhat limited, but of a high quality. Parental involvement is great, and most parents give above and beyond for not only their own children, but others as well. All in all, this is the finest school in our area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

I was a graduate from SHS. As a graduate, I can say that Saline was very challenging yet fair. The teachers were caring, supportive, and understanding with the highest expectations for every child to achieve. There was rarely any discipline problems and those were not serious. I would highly recommend this school to any parent and as a parent myself, my children will definitely be attending Saline High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 14, 2004

This School has a very high failure and drop out rate among students. Most 2nd and 3rd grade students must be tutored beyond school hours to learn to read the basic reading material. The students are poorly taught k-12; Foreign language classes don't even have a teacher. There is not a friendly atmosphere at all. Most highly recommend not sending a child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

This school is an amazing facility. I attended this school during all of my elementery and high school years. Everyone is like your family. It was an honest pleasure to attend.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

25 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

25 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
46%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
50%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
88%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 47%
Black 23% 45%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Daryl Savage
Fax number
  • (318) 576-3999

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1255 Cooper Street
Saline, LA 71070
Phone: (318) 576-3215

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bienville High School
Bienville, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT