Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Broadmoor Middle Laboratory School

Public | 6-8 | 586 students

Our school is best known for being a NASA Explore school and growing in scores

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

Broadmoor is a terrible school run by terrible administrators. Their do-nothing policy has only made the kids realize that they can literally do anything they want without fear of repercussion. I would never send my child back and would not recommend anyone who loves their child to send them to Broadmoor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

Great school!!! Broadmoor is the place to be, They thave the best teachers by far than other any middle school in caddo, Parents make the right chice send your childto BMLS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

My daughter has really developed into an independent, educated, and talented 8th grader here. I enjoy the close relationships I have formed with all of her teachers as well as other staff. They really know each child individually. There isn't anything the teachers won't do to make sure your child succeeds. Just take a look at their test scores! Awesome choice if you're looking for a great middle school where our child can be more than just a face.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

I think that BMLS is a fantastic school with amazing teachers that not only teach and help the students learn a lot, but also connect with the students personally! I highly recommend that you send your child to this school because your child will learn plenty of useful things!


Posted January 7, 2014

The 8th grade teachers are amazing at preparing my child for LEAP and for high school! I have never seen such intensity and confidence in my child. They ALL know their content, and they ALL will do anything to help my daughter succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

Sure, Broadmoor needs a remodeling, but it's not like money grows on trees. Have you ever heard that saying, if you work for something you will succeed. That is why we are trying our hardest to improve our campus. That is why I believe Broadmoor is the right way to go, at first when I attended Broadmoor i wasn't so certain I would miss this school one bit. Now, I think it improved so much. Many great teachers making us go above and beyond. You learn so much from Broadmoor, I highly think we don't deserve a 3 out of 10. I feel like we can do so much better.


Posted January 5, 2014

GROWING, IMPROVING, GETTING NOTICED!! Get on board and be a part of it! We are getting positive media attention, State Senators and other "big wigs" are coming to our campus to see how we are doing it! We are now an option instead of a have-to school! Come see what we are all about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

My daughter began her school career with an enthusiastic attitude but it quickly soured and she turned into one of those children bored with the entire institution of structured learning and only participated as a means of spending time with her friends. Since she began attending Broadmoor Middle Lab, she has bounced out of bed every morning and is ready to go on time instead of me having to give her warnings as to how much time we have remaining before we have to be out the door. She raves about the teaching styles each of her new instructors use and about what new things she is learning every day. She can't wait to participate in classroom activities or even after school activities (she is currently trying out for the softball team), she wants to be a part of this school in every way possible because this school seems to be giving her the educational nourishment she has been seeking all of these years. As a parent, I feel terrible for not seeking out such a place for her sooner but I cannot express my excitement and sense of pride at seeing her so happy and engaged. For my daughter, this school seems to be an absolutely perfect fit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

Based on my experiences at Broadmoor, I can say that this is one of the most horrendous schools in the parish, let alone the state. When you look at the school itself, you can tell that it's old, filthy, and used up. It has this unpleasant, morose atmosphere. As for discipline, it's absent. They say that there are twelve fights reported, but there's more than that. Sometimes there are five fights a week. It's like pulling teeth to get the disciplinarian to handle a student. Even then, they do very little to keep the school safe or enforce any sort of rules. I'll say this: there are some good teachers at Broadmoor. However, they are squandering their talents at that school. Most teachers are just there to collect a paycheck and enjoy benefits. The quality of education is poor. I haven't learned anything about geology in my Earth Science class; we've only covered two units in three grading periods. The students are uninterested in learning and bettering themselves. They are incredibly hostile and confrontational for no reason. I'd never recommend anyone's child to come to Broadmoor, because that would be doing a disservice to that child.


Posted February 27, 2011

This school is great because it allow the students to excel hands on academically. they don't give a lot of homework, though. Which could be a good thing if you're able to help your child in areas of weakness via contact with teachers when there is a potential problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2010

This school is true to life and prepares your child not only to the best of his or her ability, but also for the real world they are about to face. This school does not sugar-coat reality, or deny it, it teaches their students to rise above it.


Posted April 8, 2010

This school is a mess. The principal does absolutely nothing. If they would stop being jellybacks and start putiing some discipline in this school, it would at least be 1% better. I just know in my mind that this school will be going no where anytime soon. Its not as bad as i hear js clark is, but it sure is up there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

Broadmoor middle lab is a great school, where learning is the most important value. The school is a NASA school , with that being said , they are looking to the future by having the students learn more with computers. My child loves this school. Please give to them as they can always use some updates for the computers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

i attended BMLS about three years ago my experience there was iffy but all in all it was good.the teachers are the best that there are but its up to the students to learn something.i loved BMLS and gave up a spot to attend the best middle school in the state but chose not to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2008

This is a wonderful school .I love this school all of the teachers here are so nice to me,ooo yea dont even get me started on the princable the princable is so nice you or your child should go to broadmoor and check it out it is a awsome school
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2008

There are teachers at this school who are around just for the paycheck. Maybe if the students' needs and interest would be put first this school would have a better learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

This school is the worst school in shreveport. There are only a few good teachers and nobody listens to the principal. The school its self looks like dirt and it is a bad place for the students to learn. Im a student there and a place like that is unsatisfactory
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2004

This school is in desperate need of a make over. The air/heating unit is in need of repairs. If the kids have to look at this everyday going in and out of school, it also makes them feel run down and unworthy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
38%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 75% 45%
White 17% 47%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:25 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Billy Williams
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (318) 865-4142

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • JROTC
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
 

What are your chances?


2 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
100
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
600

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
CE Byrd High School
Captain Shreve High School
Caddo Middle Magnet High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

441 Atlantic Street
Shreveport, LA 71105
Phone: (318) 861-2403

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Joseph School
Shreveport, LA


Southfield School
Shreveport, LA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT