Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Southwood High School 5

Posted October 18, 2015
- a student
I'm a freshmen at Southwood and I absolutely love it here. The teachers will go above and beyond to help you learn and they really are there for your education. I will graduate with 36 college credits and so many other things due to their amazing Biotech program. Southwood really is the place to go if you want to get a quality education.

Southwood High School 1

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
This the worst school!!! The principal and staff only care about sports not the students. Wish this school wasn't in my district. This school needs a better principal and staff.


Southwood High School 1

Posted August 12, 2014
- a community member
If u enjoy waiting for a schedual you already signed up for wait for 7 hours !!! This school is all about waiting!!

Southwood High School 4

Posted May 21, 2014
- a community member
I graduated from Southwood in 2001. I have a daughter who is currently a freshman there. I just wanted to point out that, while some of the students' reviews below are embarrassing with grammatical errors (please, proof-read and spell check when writing a positive review for your SCHOOL), I received a quality education at SHS. That was several years ago and a lot has changed, but the new principal has them on the right track. My daughter has had a good experience so far, and I'm proud that she's attending my alma mater.

Southwood High School 5

Posted July 31, 2013
- a community member
This school had did a change around my first year was fun in i enjoy it techers at the school are good at what they do best sports are getting back like football this year we going to the playoffs their are some fights but not a lot if u think this is not a bad school if cause you get kick out if you fight no unfroms now so is a good school to go to


Southwood High School 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a community member
I am now a senior at Southwood highschool. Being a freshman at Southwood highschool was not the best experience for me. The students were very disrespectful, and the teachers got ran over. When the school switched to the new principal, Mr.Roberts, everything changed. Southwood now gives you a quality education, which is very good, and a very big improvement. I am not the smartest, but Southwood has helped shaped me into who I am today, a well-educated aspiring neonatal nurse. My friends always compliment my knowledge, and they also compliment my writing, and my widespread vocabulary, which I would also like to thank Walnut Hill Elementary Middle School for. I'm proud to be a cowboy, and I love to tell people, that this year, IM A GRADUATED SOUTHWOOD STUDENT AND IM PRPUD!

Southwood High School 2

Posted September 27, 2010
- a student
Im am a student at southwood highschool im a freshman so that means this is my first year here and i have to say i love the classes but the students just usually run over the teachers and speak to them as if they were children. i was suppose to ateend byrd and i still want to. the kids are to into there own clicks and arnt into making new friends. the staff are very nice and i have to admit when i first started the school with the new principal i thought he was a bit strict but then again what i heard from the upper classman we need strict at shs the principals are very nice people but i would not send a child there because of the influence of the kids!

Southwood High School 3

Posted June 24, 2010
- a community member
Teacher quality was wildly variable; some were superb, but some were barely literate. Some rules didn't make a great deal of sense, like forcing students to leave the building immediately after their last class, rather than studying in the library. This school was essentially adequate, but could be much better if you had the right teachers.


Southwood High School 3

Posted October 06, 2008
- a student
I am a 2008 graduate from southwood and i must say that it is a good school depending on what you make of it. My freshman year i went to Byrd and hated it and once I came to Southwood everything changed. Yes there are fights and problems as every school has but I am proud to say I went there. Upon me graduating I saw many changes and improvements with the school. EVERY school always has problems but this school is definitely improving!!

Southwood High School 5

Posted October 02, 2008
- a parent
Many changes have taken place at Southwood High School. A 9th grade academy, a new assistant principal, Mr. Jeff Roberts and uniforms are few to mention. The staff along with the administration are working very hard to improve the quality of education for each student. Ihave a daughter that is a junior at Southwood and I can see the changes that have taken place. Southwood is a great school to attend and it offers a wide varity of after school activities along with many clubs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southwood High School
9000 Walker Road, Shreveport, LA  71118
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (318) 686-9512
Last modified Southwood High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top