Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walnut Hill Elementary/Middle School

Public | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2008

The school is very clean and the staff is creative and inspiring. The principle shows great character and high family morals, which is the kind of role model I am proud that my kid is under.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

It is great. Not one complaint about bullys or bad teachers. Very good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2007

Overall Walnut Hill is an excellent school! The teacher involvement is outstanding and this is the one reason why I moved my children from Turner to here for elementary school! The leadership from the prinicipal and the parent involvement is amazing and I would recommend this school to any parent who wants their child to have a chance at a great learning experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

My daughter has been at the Hill for 6 years now and I must say that the education she has received so far has been excellent. Mr Hardison has always made sure that he and his teachers are involved in many programs. And parental support of the school is as good as any non-magnet school you could ever find. The Hill gets a A+ in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

I am a student of the hill I have been going there since kindergarten I personaly love it .The staff never gives up on me and some fellow students.My band teacher ,Mr.Tinker never gives us either.Our school has a PTA and has alot of members .We have a football team basketball team and a soft ball team .My math teacher Mrs. Carscadden started a fraturnity called Hornets With Hope . They meet on Tuesdays at 7 am. They also have sac, 4h , top notch ,and more.They have added a hallway , i wing.The parent involment hit the roof this year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2006

The quality of academic programs is very good at the hill. The musical,sports,and other extracurricular activities are very available. Their art and musical programs are some of the best around, and the directors of the musical programs are very dedicated to what they do, which is teach students how to enjoy playing music. There is plenty of parent involvement but there could be more.Walnut Hill is a really good school; the teachers actually care about what they're doing and they care about they're students. They make learning fun and interesting.The teachers at Walnut Hill love they're jobs because they love children!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 18, 2006

Mrs. White moved here to northwest la. after hurricane Katrina and I thank God for her. My son was not excited about starting school and now he loves school and her along with Mrs B (class aide). Mrs White has worked with his speech and honestly loves her job I thank her and God for coming to Walnut Hill and to the principal (Mr. Hardison) for having good taste and a good judgment in hiring this wonderful teacher and friend to the little growing and brilliant minds in the ECE program at Walnut Hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

My daughter is completing her first year at this school after relocating from St. Tammany Parish following Hurricane Katrina. We have been so pleased with the level of excellence in this school from the bus driver to the office workers, teachers, counselors and principals! Parental involvement is not only welcomed but encouraged. While St. Tammany Parish is lauded as being the 'Best School System in the State'. The schools my daughter has attended cannot compare to the education she received in Third Grade at Walnut Hill. This is a great example how a school should operate. We look forward to returning for Fourth Grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

My child has gone to Walnut Hill for six years and I would recommend the school to anyone. Mr. Hardison does not tolerate any nonsense. Grandparents Day has a wonderful turnout as do most events. However, the school seems to be bursting at the seams with parking being a problem sometimes but that is not the school's fault. Very high student pride in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

When my 8 year old daughter first mentioned she would like to go to Walnut Hill, I admit, I was skeptical at first. From the time she was 3, she had attended Calvary Bapstist and public school did not seem the right thing to do. But we had recently moved to Eagles nest and all the friends she had made went to Walnut Hill. So we enrolled her and have loved it ever since. Thank you Mrs. Jackson for being such a wonderful teacher. Mr. Hardison is more than a principal. He understands our children as well as us parents. I would gladly recommend Walnut Hill to any parent. Thanks Again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2004

I want to responed to the reveiw given in aug. 2003 About the non-custodial parent. Maybe if alot of non-custodial parents didn't think they were the real parent and try and run the school and everyone in it they could be more involved. I'm a natural parent dealing with a step-parent who thinks they have the right to all my children's information when they really have no rights at the school and mr. Hardison and all his staff has done very well to help protect the rights of my children. So whether you like what the school or the system states that is your problem and your problem alone. And also mr. Hardison nor the staff at the school has ever stopped anyone from coming to school events, if you don't go thats on you. I stand behind mr. Hardison and all his staff one hundred percent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2003

Very good school. More elective courses are needed for middle school. Courses such as: French, Spanish, Geography, Environment Science, and Law would be a welcome addition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My Family just moved to this school this year, we came from a highly rated school district, we were very concerned about the sending our two boys to this school. One my children is hearing impared and we were concerned if he would recieve the attention necessary to help him to continue to learn,we were overjoyed to see all the help that the school and district were going to put in place to help him, we think Walnut Hill is a great school, with a great staff and wonderful teachers, and the best principal I have met, I think this school is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I think My children are very lucky to attend Walnut Hill. The staff and Mr. Hardison are outstanding motivators the feild of learning, they give all children the same opportunity to get a great education, being a parent of special education child that means alot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2003

I really think this is the best school. My daughter is going into the 7th grade and has been there every since 1st grade. She passed up a chance to go to Caddo Middle Magnet for her love of that school. Mr.Hardison really is the best principal that school has ever seen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I think Walnut Hill is one of the Best Schools in Caddo Parish. I thank God that my children had the opportunity to attend this Fantastic School. Mr. Hardison is the Best Principal I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Walnut Hill is one of the few schools in the ArkLaTex region that does not allow non-custodial parents equal opportunities to be involved with children. Empathy by the staff for the non-custodial parents would benefit the children most of all. Principal and teachers alike need to realize there are two sides to every story and that the non-custodial parent isn't always the 'monster' the custodial parent makes him/her out to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2003

I think this school is terrific! The principal and the teachers are great!


Posted May 26, 2003

I like the school !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 47%
Black 42% 45%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Albert Hardison
Fax number
  • (318) 688-6522

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Track
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9360 Woolworth Road
Shreveport, LA 71129
Phone: (318) 687-6610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Huntington High School
Shreveport, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT