Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boyet Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 667 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, April 17, 2014

Boyet Junior High gets 5 stars from me. I am so impressed with the faculty and how much they care about the students and their education.They prepare them for the I leap well in advance so that they are covering all the proper materials for the test. Best Junior High School Slidell
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

I'm an 8th grader at Boyet this year, and I'm pleased to say that it's so much better than the school I transferred from in my second semester of 7th grade. I'm speaking in terms of curriculum,disciplinary actions and even extracurricular programs. I noticed a diversity in teaching methods between 7th and 8th grade, and it was somewhat difficult to adjust to at first, but it's all in great preparation for high school. Different teachers have different ways of challenging and engaging the students, and I feel as though just as much effort is put into getting students to retain the information they're being taught as there is actually teaching it. The campus is larger that what I was used to, as students travel outside (under a roof) to get to classes like gym or their electives. It all gets easier in time. I really have nothing bad to say about the school other than the fact that there's the same crowd of kids who pick on others and the same crowd that has disciplinary issues, but you find that at any school. I also enjoy the fact that Boyet Junior High allows incentives, such as dances, treats, movie days, etc. and offers fantastic sports and clubs for everyone. Awesome school!


Posted June 13, 2012

I just finished my seventh grade year. This school is spectacular. The teachers know what they're doing and they really care. I would like to point out one class in particular, Mrs. Fairchild's Adv. English class. She is the most hardworking teacher ever and this class proves to be very CHALLENGING, but it shows to have more than just the necessary skills. By far the best class I've ever been in. And as for the principles, they're amazing. Dr. Stubbs (who's earned his Doctrines Degree this year) Is very student friendly and committed. Mrs. Brookes, the vice principle, is a caring woman, who rules with an iron fist. She will tend to any student's needs, but if she has to discipline you, she'll make sure you won't act up again. Overall, this is a fabulous school with great courses, faculty and staff, and atmosphere. You'll be doing your child a favor by sending him/her to this school.


Posted March 26, 2012

I am in 7th Grade and I was a 4.0 all my life and ever since I went here, I am now a 2.0. My grades have drop dramaticly and it has cause me to be antisocial, because all I do now is study and homework, but yet my grades don't increase.


Posted April 26, 2010

I personally went to Boyet Jr. High and consider it to be a wonderful school. A huge part of who I am is because of it. I developed my deep love for English more strongly than I had anywhere else, and also cultivated an appreciation for the arts.


Posted January 7, 2010

I am in the eigth grade and am in honors Algebra and love this school it has lots of activitys to do and great teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2009

Yes boyet is an older school but it doesn't matter if it's old or new. The teachers are spectacular, they care about the kids education. I am very happy with boyet!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

My daughter started this school this year. We are a military family who move contantly. I absolutley love Boyet. As a parent, I notice the teachers care so much for the students learning. Also my daughter adjusted well and the children are also very nice. I love it. I give it all 5 stars.. ! happy mom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

Boyet is a school where the students are important, along with the dress code and discipline. Even if our school is a bit older, it's still a great school, and I would definately reccomend anyone to come visit our school! Go rebels!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2007

This is the school that the most successful kids come from.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2003

Boyet truly believes that every child is important. The teachers seem to care about the kids as well as the curriculum.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 49%
Black 19% 45%
Asian 3% 1%
Hispanic 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Christian Monson
Fax number
  • (985) 649-9470

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

59295 Rebel Drive
Slidell, LA 70461
Website: Click here
Phone: (985) 643-3775

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT