Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Salmen High School

Public | 8-12 | 910 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2005

I graduated from Salmen a couple of years ago. I felt that it was very easy to make good grades there because the standards were lower than other high schools in the area. I had a good G.P.A. which helped get scholarships, but when I went to college I felt that I was not up to par with most of the other students. Also, I felt as though the athletic programs took away from the extracurricualr activities. Well, this was a few years ago, all I can do is hope it has changed for the better now.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 15, 2005

I have a child that has been in Salmen for 2 years now. The counselor is fantastic. Mr. Williams is awesome. But on the down side are some of the teachers, or rather they call themselves teachers. If your child is not in the right click, they struggle desperately to make it through. They cannot get the extra help they need. It is really a shame that so many children do suffer because of their low social status. I wonder what God will tell these people when that day comes to meet him and they ask where the line is for the ' I'm better than you' is. Some of the kids are real jerks to those who are not as fortunate as they just so happen to be. I say to those people, you never know about a persons background (abuse, abandonment, ect)so try to be loving and nice to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2005

I disagree with the respondent who wrote that Salmen is an unkempt school. Salmen was the 1st place winner of the cleanest school contest in the senior high division for 3 years straight and 2nd place winner in 2005. I think that's saying a lot for a school that is over 40 years old. As for the students trashing the grounds, I see no evidence of this occurring. In fact, a team of students and faculty members worked on a Saturday just a few weeks ago to plant new flowerbeds and to trim up some overgrown oaks. Students earned all of the funds for the project through fundraisers and did all of the work themselves along with the faculty sponsors. I think that speaks a great deal about the character and integrity of those at Salmen. Salmen students and teachers work for what they have--nothing is given to them.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 20, 2005

This is truly a great school. Mr. Williams is the best principal in this parish; this is his second school reforming. This school has some of the most educated teachers in this parish; some have attended such prestigious institutions like Drew University, UCLA, UT-Austin, and Indiana University. I do wish we had STUDENT involvemnt, but that would come with time. The sutdents are extremely polite, and they are extremely respectful to substitute teachers. I would like to say that Salmen is the best kept secret in Slidell.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 3, 2005

I had my doubts about Salmen but after 2 years that my son has gone I LOVE THIS School. My son loves it and enjoys going. The principal is Great, the teachers and staff CARE about their students and help them in any way they can. My son is on the honor roll and does extremely well. I have been on the grounds and the students there are friendly, polite and caring. I have never had a bad experience there. KUDOS TO SALMEN-A GREAT SCHOOL TO LEARN AND CREATE FRIENDSHIPS. -Tara
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

This school has more cons than pros. Everyone has a rotten attitude. Students pick fights with visiting schools at football games, and the administration does nothing to stop it. They go to other schools and desicrate their grounds, and Salmen officials does not even chide the students. The school is always run down and dirty, and the teachers don't know what they are talking about half the time. It is a shame that these students have to attend such a deplorable school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 10, 2004

It is a great school! The teachers there really owrk hard to make sure that the students are working to the best of their abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2004

If your looking for a great school in the St.Tammany district I would recomend you make the right decision and enroll your child in a school that actually cares whether your child passes or not and also shows them how to have good,safe and clean fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

198 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

198 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
23%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
39%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
59%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 55% 45%
White 37% 47%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Spartan Drive
Slidell, LA 70458
Phone: (985) 643-7359

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Slidell SDA School
Slidell, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT