Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
8-12
Public
Slidell, LA
Students enrolled: 910

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Salmen High School 5

Posted June 29, 2014
- a community member
This is not just a review on this school but the St. tammany parish schools in general most schools in this parish dont have incentives like kindergarden and 8th graders graduation they dont have it in this parish so students dont have any thing to congratulate them selves for there hard work. All so , in the high schools if a student is being bullied and the bully starts getting physical the person getting bullied cant fight back or protect there self , because they both will get suspended and get charges put on them for fighting. So i think if your moving or thinking about going to a st tammany parish distract the good thing about the schools is that they have good teachers and the students learn and thats is all that matter

Salmen High School 2

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
The principal has no concern for the students. She is very unprofessional when issues/concerns are brought to her attention by the parents. Example, students schedule were not correct. They were not schedule for the basic courses required for graduation i.e. English and Math. On the other hand, they were schedule for Physical Education. After contacting the counselors on several occasions; the principal was contacted. Her response was they can just take P.E., and take the required courses at a later time frame. She has no concern for the students or their future and should not be an Administrator. There are teachers that cannot control their classroom environment; therefore it interferes with the students learning. Case in point, during the 2012-2013 school year, students were throwing textbooks out the classroom window and resulted in damage to staff cars. When the issue was presented to the staff, they basically gave the parents a textbook response and made no effort to correct the problem.


Salmen High School 1

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
Great Kids and Teachers. Administration (basically the principal and one of the assistant principals) is ruining the school. Teacher are leaving in droves because of their treatment and the school board (even though addressed about it many times) fails to fix the situation.

Salmen High School 4

Posted January 22, 2013
- a community member
Great school . Overall Salmen High is very good and cares for the students. Most of the teachers care, are down to earth, and will HELP you. There is always tutoring in the morning, afternoon, and during study hall. The campus is beautiful. New and just great looking. Also sports here excel (except soccer) . Many different kinds of people and many from different backgrounds. Overall, most of the kids mind their business and there are no problems. I am very satisfied with my years here

Salmen High School 1

Posted October 14, 2012
- a community member
Salmen used to be a great school but it spiraled downhill when they started accepting the failures and post- Jump Start kids and let them slide on by through high school while other students actually worked for their diploma, therfore, there is a giant racial inbalance and standards are extremely low. Salmen is literally known as the "last resort" high school in St.Tammany Parish and the terrible principle isn't doing much about it. Kind of saddens me. It used to be such a classy great high school. Now it is the ghetto of St Tammany Parish Public High Schools and its not getting any better. Just goes to show that they can spend a million dollars on place like that and make it look all polished up but its inhabitants (including staff) are below average. Would not reccomend going to this high school. Trust me. I am a student ther. I regret it almost everyday and i wish i wouldnt have ever enrolled at Salmen High School.


Salmen High School 4

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
If you are looking for a school that actually CARES about the students this is the place. Salmen most closely resembles the 'real world' more than any other school in St. Tammany Parish. Salmen's student body is made up a melting pot of cultures that most closely represents our world. Having said that, the teachers at Salmen go out of their way to attend to the needs of ALL students. As a matter of fact, a lot of the teachers are former students of Salmen. Salmen has a family environment and despite the rumors, Salmen's students have less disciplinary problems and MORE respect than any other so-called 'advanced' school in the parish. The curriculum is the same as every other school and the students get out what they put into it.

Salmen High School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
I love Salmen because its a very good public school and it is in the process of having to be rebuilt from the hurricane and it will be a better institute for the people of Slidell.

Salmen High School 4

Posted August 28, 2009
- a student
As a former student of this school, who was transferred out due to parent's jobs, I have had to great opportunity to compare this high school to two others from an insider's point of view. This was a wonderful school for building character and learning how to respect people from all walks of life. No this school was not academically strong, but I think that is due to the lack of parents participation in reminding the students of the importance of education. Coming now from a topped ranked high school, it is the parents (and the tax payers money) that really makes a great school. In my opinion Salmen does a great job with what they have been giving. It is the only high school that where almost every student fits in, within the first two weeks.


Salmen High School 5

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
Great school, great administration, --the entire school is like one big family. I graduated from salmen and currently have 1 child in the ninth grade academy there. My oldest daughter graduated last year and is now attending lsu (and has a 4.0) Majoring in education to go back and teach at the school. Salmen is the best kept secret on the northshore!

Salmen High School 5

Posted December 17, 2008
- a student
I attend Salmen High, and LOVE IT! Get involved..it makes school so much more fun if you do.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Salmen High School
300 Spartan Drive, Slidell, LA  70458
(985) 643-7359
Last modified Salmen High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Salmen High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top