Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Slidell Junior High School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2011

my son switched from a private school to slidell jr. i can't say how overwhelmingly pleased i have been with the teachers, and the principal and asst principals. after just 1 semester he was placed in honors, and his teachers are fantastic. if i had a problem, mr. mackin was immediately available with a open door policy, and everyone makes great strides to correct any problem you might have. his education has been first rate, compared to the waste of money we threw away at first baptist. he is entering the 8th grade, and i am very excited for this upcoming year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

I switched from a private school to here, and I must say, this school soes wonders compared to others. In 8th grade, it is possible that a child will have a Nationally Board Certified teacher. If thats not impressive, I really dont know what is. Take it from a student. The taechers really care and love what they do. Teachers @ SJHS take time for individualized approaches, too. I LOVE MY SCHOOL AND AM PROUD TO GO HERE!! GO TIGERS!!


Posted October 22, 2009

what discipline the staff have no control over the kids, this is the worst school my child has ever attended
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

This is a very good school. The sports activities are awsome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

This school is awsome. They have great extracurricular activities . They really get the school involved in everything they do. Take it from a student that goes to this school. You will have a better time at this school if you get involved in more activities than you would if you didint.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2008

i love slidell junior high. i have been going to this school for 3years and those three years could never have been better. the teachers and caring (well most of them) the food is usually good and the sports are fsantastic. caitlin marie mocklin'
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2006

This is a great school. They care about the children, which is very important at this age. They try to empower the students to make good decisions for life. My daughter attended here and now my son attends and I could not be happier with the school or it's staff. If we had more schools like this then maybe our children would learn to believe in themselves and have a decent education to follow thier dreams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

This school draws from various socioeconomic pools, which may account for some of its lower standardized scores comparted to others in the area. However, the academics are strong as well as the reading program. There are fantastic programs for honors and gifted students as well as competent arts and music programs.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 47%
Black 36% 45%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Patrick Mackin
Fax number
  • (985) 641-6397

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

333 Pennsylvania Avenue
Slidell, LA 70458
Phone: (985) 641-5914

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Slidell SDA School
Slidell, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT