Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Clearwood Junior High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
The Teachers and Staff do not work with students. They often make assumptions about students without effectively communicating the student and their parents. The principal will oftentimes only consider the teacher's side of a situation and dismiss the student's version, even when many other students are providing proof in the students behalf.

Clearwood Junior High School 2

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
As many other parents have stated, it is very difficult to get the attention the secretaries. They sit and gossip openly about other students and staff members, while you are waiting to speak to someone. My child has also experienced this also when asking to call home due to illnesses. So many times he has come home angry with me for not caring about him because he assumed that they called me. Plus, the principal seems to care more about his staff and not the welfare of the children. When showing actual evidence of a teacher's mistake, he refused to acknowledge it and still suspended my child. After going to the school board, I was able to get it reversed. There is also a huge lack of communication with the parents, unless your child is one the "golden children". Yes, this school is a good for those group of children who are your typical popular children. So, if your child is not this type then there will be issues.


Clearwood Junior High School 4

Posted August 17, 2015
- a parent
This school has gone through some ups and downs as far staffing but in the last few years the teachers and administrators have improved immensely. This is one of the best junior highs in Slidell. Lots of parental involvement! Small school with family atmosphere.

Clearwood Junior High School 1

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
I was there today. The front office staff was clueless. It is very clear that the staff here are not involved with the students. They do not care at all.

Clearwood Junior High School 2

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
The asst. principal here is lacking any and all social skills.... This woman is disliked by not only her students, but also by her students' parents, co-workers and peers alike. It's a shame because the principal seems to be intimidated by her as well and he really is a nice man, however, the atmosphere generated by this overwhelmingly strong, uncaring personality of the asst principal dominates and has a very negative affect on this facility. Could this be "the rude person" that was supposedly moved from the front office according to another posting? If so, she is unfortunately still there... However, it does seem like retirement is long over due for her.


Clearwood Junior High School 3

Posted June 05, 2013
- a parent
I agree with the previous parent about the math teacher, although she will be moved down a grade she still will be attempting to teach our children. She does not grade fairly if she grades your child's paper at all, she is so unorganized that she loses the work fairly regularly then gives you a zero for it. The list can go on and on... Bottom line is this teacher needs to go back to school herself. As far as the administration they need to retire and let someone who is fresh and ready to handle the faculty and students fairly.

Clearwood Junior High School 5

Posted May 05, 2013
- a parent
Much improvement over the years. The rude person in the office was moved to a new location in the school. Teachers are excellent and very approachable. Sorry to see my last child leave this year. His test scores have improved remarkable with each year. One of the best PTA programs ever!

Clearwood Junior High School 5

Posted May 05, 2013
- a parent
I have been a parent off and on for the past 15 years and have seen the school go through many changes. I think the parent/teacher communication has greatly improved. As for the comments regarding the appearance..it is an old school. I believe several awards have been won for cleanest school. We have had some wonderful and supportive teachers through the years


Clearwood Junior High School 3

Posted February 26, 2013
- a parent
I have one child that has been attending here for 3 yrs now and another that will be going there next yr. My child has to walk to and from school on a daily basis bc there is no bus route for her bc we live so close to school, but is still a good distance for a walker. She and many others have to walk through the school yard to get to school which most of the time is overgrown with high grass or too wet like a pond on rainy days. I have asked and spoke with the principal on many occasions about getting these kids that walk a sidewalk put through the school yard so they can get to and from school without getting muddy and wet or having to walk through tall grass, but nothing seems to help on getting a sidewalk yet! PLEASE HELP!!!!! concerned parents in northwood

Clearwood Junior High School 4

Posted August 27, 2007
- a parent
As a parent of a 4th grader I was very nervous about my child attending school with 8th graders, but they are in a completely different hall. They do switch classes several times a day but the classes are directly across the hall from each other, there are only about four 4th grade classrooms. The teachers and staff care about the kids, they just have a lot more students to handle than in their elementary school. Overall my child likes the school and so I.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clearwood Junior High School
130 Clearwood Drive, Slidell, LA  70458
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (985) 641-8200
Last modified Clearwood Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 4-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top