Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northshore High School

Public | 8-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 30, 2013

I went to school and I thoroughly enjoyed my four years here. The teachers were awesome, I was involved in a variety of clubs and sports and learned so much. When I went into college two years ago, I was actually prepared and felt comfortable. It was the quality of a private school without the cost of one! There are so many different courses and extracurricular that no one has an excuse to fall in th shadows. If I end up staying in the area by the time I'm married and with Children, I will gladly send them to Northshore.


Posted September 22, 2013

Why pay for private schools when academically Northshore is way better?! Save your money bc Northshore high is the best high school in Saint Tammany parish. I have 2 daughters there & they absolutely love it there. The teachers are awesome & so is the principal! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Tis is by far the best high school in st. Tammany parish. Gifted and AP classes are offered. In addition the School offers so many extracurricular and athletic opportunities such as track tennis swim football baseball basketball art and you name it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

I am SO disappointed in the quality of education this supposedly "superior" school provides. I have reviewed papers from a sophomore that received an A-100% and have found grammatical and spelling errors galore-not to mention the handwriting was illegible and sloppy. I also found that the sentence structure/language was that of a 6-7 year old. I could not believe it. It seems that as long as there is SOMETHING written on the paper, it gets an A. It would have gotten a D in my day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2012

I attended this school and graduated a few years ago. I absolutely LOVED my school! The teachers were always encouraging and down to earth. They were ALWAYS there when I needed help, and even now I have called up some of my past teachers and asked them for help which they give willingly. It DEFINITELY prepared me for college and was able to graduate at the top of my class because of the awesome educational foundation that NHS laid for me! Go panthers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2011

I absolutely love the teachers & staff & dr. Peterson. I had a couple of girls harrassing my daughter, dr Peterson took action right there & then, no hesitation. He loves his students and goes above and beyond, as do some teachers!! Awesome awesome awesome school, happy parent, happy kids, good grades! Life is great! Best high school in St Tammany for sure! Not only am I a parent here, I also substitute there for the teachers! I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

I absolulety love Northshore High. My daughter was a new student.. All the children, teachers, school staff, welcomed her and being a military family, we move constantly, and we've never been more comfortable than with Northshore High. Teachers, and my daughters counselor focus and my childs academic and well being. I think people that write bad reviews are the ones who kids don't go to this school. I'm very happy with Northshore high. My daughter is very happy here and has made so much progress and trust me, the teachers and counselors here really do care for her academic wise, and on a personal basis.. thanks Northshore, i'm a very happy mom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

Northshore High School is one of the nations premere secondary schools. The students are engaged in quality learning experiences that prepare them for the college of their choice. Its graduates are attending and are successful in some of the finest technical and academic institutions in the United States (Yale, Tulane, Brown, LSU, Ohio State, Georgia Tech, Juliard School of Arts, and many others). The faculty is highly qualified and the curriculum includes rigorous courses in Latin, Calculous, Physics, World History, Psychology, Creative Writing, and many Advanced Placement courses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Northshore does not educate the 'whole' student. They concentrate on academics and promote a culture of superiority and arrogance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

This is the best school in the St. Tammany Parish. I am a current student here at Northshore. The teachers are great, the dicipline is very strict, and I am always having fun here. There are so many extacurricular activities, your child would be involved with so much. I 100% recommend this school to any oncomming students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

This school is not all it is rumored to be. The only thing that keeps NHS with great test scores and well behaved students is the mostly upper middle class homes the children come from. The teachers are lazy and unwilling to try new and inovative ways of teaching. You can walk the same halls for 4 years and still feel like a stranger and just another face in the crowd. No one there truly cares about you or your education. All they care about is what your test scores can bring to them. Not what they can do for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2005

The sports at this school are relatively poor. The band at this school is absolutely spectacular.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 3, 2005

I find that Northshore concentrates on acedemics which I think is exceptional. The students are well prepared after they graduate and should be able to advance to any college/university of their choice. I have three sons two of which already graduated from Northshore High School. After graduation one attended LSU and the other is presently attending Northwestern State Univ. The third and youngest son is now a Junior at Northshore. The no tollerance rule which was implemented years ago as well as the dress code is a great indication of the excellent standards required of school personnel/officials.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

The academic programs offered at Northshore High School are challenging and all offer every student quality instruction. The administration is dedicated to providing a positive, safe, and meaningful learning environment. The faculty is committed to helping every child reach their full potential. Look around and you'll recognize that Northshore High School is truly an outstanding educational program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

Some choose to stereotype Northshore s students as having arrogant attitudes simply because of where they live. The truth of the matter is that Northshore s students have pride in their school because as a whole they are out performing area high schools on standardized testing and in academic achievement. In 2004, seven students were named National Merit Scholarship Finalists, while some local schools had none. Yes, these students have a challenging learning environment, but they are rising to this challenge. The point here is not to criticize other schools but to acknowledge one that is performing well. I believe that much of the school s success is a direct result of parental support and high expectations from both faculty and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

Alright school. A lot of the students are stuck up and have a holier-than-thou attitude that the teachers only encourage. Leadership could use a little work.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 10, 2004

I recieved my High School Diploma at Northshore High School, and it is amazing. The teachers are willing to help at any cost and the possible extra curricular activities are endless! Any child would be only lucky to graduate from NHS!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 21, 2004

This is a really great school but their are way too many kids going to this school. My daughter went here and she didn't get any attention from the teachers because their are to many kids to take care of all of their needs. She started going to Pearl River and now her teachers can give her as much attention as she needs. She has graduated with Honers and now she is going to a great college with major in nursing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

I have twin boys that attend Northshore High. The principal is dedicated to making sure all the students have the opportunity to receive a quality education in a safe environmnet. The teachers truly care about the students in and out of the classroom. As a military family member who has had the oportunity to travel all over the world, I must admit I was truly concern about moving to a state where majority of the public schools are failing. The reason this school is successful is a combination of parents, teachers, students and administration working together. Keep up the great work Northshore High!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2004

I have two children who graduated from Northshore and one who is a sophmore at this time. We have nothing but the highest regards for this school and it's staff. On child was big into band another big into agriculture and another wanted nothing but academics. This school was able to meet the needs of all three and did an excellent job. It is an excellent school that relly cates about the student no matter what his/her interest or academic level is. Tese scores prove Northshore to be one of the best five high schools in the state year after year!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

390 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

390 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
51%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 47%
Black 15% 45%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Panther Drive
Slidell, LA 70461
Website: Click here
Phone: (985) 649-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Emerson Academy
Slidell, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT