Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Margaret Mary School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Slidell

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2014

St. Margaret Mary Catholic School is a wonderful school! The Teachers, Staff, and Administration are devoted to Catholic education. They focus on developing each child academically and spiritually. My children are loved and treated like family. The education is excellent and technology is used in the classrooms along with a computer class. There are enrichment courses in Art, Library, and PE. Sixth through Eighth grades offers honors classes and an opportunity to earn high school credits for 8th graders. I feel my children are well rounded and ready for high school. SMM is home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

St. Margaret Mary is an awesome catholic school! Both of my boys have been going there since they were in Pre-K and I've never had one complaint about their teachers. The teachers and staff at SMM really care about the health, education and spiritual well being of all their children. I would definitely recommend SMM to a parent wanting to send their child to a great catholic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

I have been so happy with Saint Margaret Mary. The teachers level of compassion is above par as is the academics and teaching of core values. There is a positive energy running through this school and I feel lucky to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

My son has been attending SMM since Pre-k, he is now in first grade and I will never pick any other school for him to attend. The teacher's are great and really care for the students.They are strict but I believe that is what kids need. I love the school and would not change it for nothing! I'm very pleased with everything. And forgot to say my son just started first grade 3 months ago and he is reading at 40 words a minute.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

SMM has forgotten it Christian values. My child has dyslexia and the school has totally failed her. Though they would only comply with a few of the intervention recommended, we found that even those agreed upon were inconsistently followed. If you are considering this school and your child has any special needs, I urge you to think again. This will likely not the best fit for your child. Socially there are bullies who, if your child runs up against, will make their life very unpleasant, to say the least. It has been my experience that the staff most dedicated to my child's best interests, have left, or are planning to leave (go figure). Please be aware that simply paying for a better, Christian education doesn't mean you will get it. I am very displeased with most aspects of what should have been a vey positive experience for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

The SMM staff only focuses on the above average students. If your child has any type of learning disability or challenge, these issues are placed back on the child. The principal specifically indicated on registration day, that their resources were limited to deal with learning issues. SMM wants your money, but doesn't want or desire to ensure the success of every child. When asked how the school handles students with issues like dyslexia, both the principal and teacher had no answer. When I inquired about joining the class to observe/assist, all I received was excuses. Also, don't be fooled regarding Christian values. I'm a catholic and selected this school to ensure my child received a Christian education. Yes, the students have religion classes and attend mass, but I guess SMM's version of a Christian education is not to support children with special needs. I believe Jesus healed and educated everyone including those with special needs. Lastly, I did contact the Archdiocese of New Orleans, requesting assistance and was informed that any help or assistance was solely at the discretion of the principal and unless the child was failing they could not help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

St. Margaret Mary is an excellent, well disciplined school with outstanding, friendly and compassionate personnel. The strict discipline is fair and handled in a loving manner. Academically, the school is an excellent base for high school. From St. Margaret Mary, my 2 children received this base for high school and have excelled as well rounded individuals and citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

This is a good school if your child is average. My child had a learning disability and they refused to give him accomadations. I had to move him to a public school. So much for a Christian attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

My son attended Kindergarden at SMM. He was not at the top of the class, and so they had no use for him. All they are worried about is having higher achievers so that they can keep their Blue Ribbon standing and be able to brag that they have such a good school when actually this does not reflect their teaching but only the type of student they want to attract. Also, I find that they pick favorites to do certain priveleged things. I paid the same amount of money as everyone else, and I understand that not everyone can be chosen to, say, bring up gifts at Mass, but why not be fair and draw names from a hat?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

Overall, an outstanding school. Academically competitive with Lake Castle but a warmer, more embracing environment. Discipline can be somewhat unfair.Overall I think the teachers are authentically interested in the student's well being. All the teachers and administrators are approachable and reasonable. There are playground politics, however I think all the children are treated fairly. The school offers a wide variety of extracurricular activities in sports, band, theater, cheerleading and ministries. Be prepared for typical Catholic nickle and dime fund raising efforts. A fun social environment for parents and plenty of chances to be involved at school. I would recommend this school without reservation for Catholic and non-catholic students who are academically serious and have support at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

This school has excellent sports teams and thats about it. Way to strict.. Especially with uniforms. Not a fun school to attend.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 30, 2004

Teachers here could use a bit more patience with the kids (especially the boys). They seem too quick to discipline them for what I feel is typical boy behavior, but the education is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 44%
Black 5% 51%
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New Orleans
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1050 Robert Blvd A
Slidell, LA 70458
Phone: (985) 643-4612

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Slidell SDA School
Slidell, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT