Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

St. Amant High School

Public | 8-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2013

St.Amant high school is a really great school!!!I love how the teacher teach their students,how the administration is there,and I love how there's always some way that they find a way to fix a problem.i love St.Amant high school!!!!!


Posted September 25, 2013

As we were moving to La. due to work we chose this city and school because of the wonderful reviews. What a mistake! The great reviews are done by people that obviously haven't been out of this town so have no idea what a great school really is. Although white, it s deeply offensive to witness open racism toward African Americans daily or hear girls that have short hair called "lesbian". In GREAT schools the teachers would stop such hurtful behavior. Or at least listen when someone complains about it! Also, my child/children were well liked at other schools. Be prepared to be given the silent treatment, or verbally bullied if you aren't from this place or don t look like everyone else. At "great" schools they strive to act welcoming towards new students. Here the principle and all but one councilor are cold, hard, and behave as if they too are students. Never mind trying to work with them. They act closed minded, spiteful, and standoffish. I feel for those stuck here that are of a diff race or dress. Though we have seen& heard that if the "black people" act white or good at sports then they too are respected. Unbelievable! There are a few great teachers. Yet many unprofessional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

At this school, all they care about is sports!!! If your child is not in football, cheer leading, dance etc, they could care less about your child. They have teachers that are very unprofessional and nothing is done about it. I would not recommend this school for any one!!!


Posted June 25, 2009

This is a great school, i enjoy every thing about it. We have lots of fun for football games and prep rally's .
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2009

Great school i go to it and i am a freshman i love it so much everyone is nice!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2008

this is a great school it's fun. we learn so much cool things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 31, 2008

This will be my daughter's freshman year at St. Amant High. From experiences with my son, the staff was kind and compassionate. The kids are tough, I am nervous about my daughter starting here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2006

I am a student at St. Amant. Education wise this is a great school. There is plenty of supervision and lots of guidelines and is an overall nice place. If your child is into sports then this will be heaven. Now if your child is a gothic type brace yourself you're in for a ride.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

419 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

418 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
57%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
69%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 47%
Black 13% 45%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12035 Louisiana 431
St. Amant, LA 70774
Website: Click here
Phone: (225) 391-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Faith Academy
Gonzales, LA


Faith Academy
Gonzales, LA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT