Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Iberville Elementary/High School

Public | PK-12 | 483 students

 

Be sure to visit

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

This has to be the most disappointing school I have ever had my children attend. I was so impressed by the building and the positive nature of the administration and staff. Then my children actually attending this poor excuse for a school. They often come home with no homework and are getting less and less interested in school. Many of the teachers I have interacted with can barely speak correct English. I have received notices from the school with grammar and spelling errors. This is a disaster that needs immediate overhaul. I will be sending my children to a different school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

This school is by far the worst my kids ever attented. If your kids are smart, you don't want them to waste their education in this school. One of the teacher (first grade teacher told my kid that he don't need to study because he is smart). What kind of teacher will say something like that. Teachers need to be more encouraging to students and not to make students think that they are smart enough not to study.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Sending my child to this school is the worst mistake i may have made. Some, not all, but some of the teachers there just don't care about the kids...It's truely a shame....Let's just say i wont be sending my child there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

I go To East Iberville now! We do have a band now! We do have and art class! Our test scores went up dramatically over the past few years! Some of you parents don't know what you are or were talking about!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2007

East Iberville is a very good school that will only get better. The administration (Johnson and Edwards) are turning it around. They still have progress to make though. They are requiring more of students and teachers. Teachers who don't have children's best interest seem to be disappearing. That's a good thing! I have two children at East. I love the Reading First Program now that I can see results in my child. The High School English Dept. is the one of the best. We could stand more improvement in the arts. We need a band, choir, art or something. Those types of things are holding us back. HomeEc is great too. Parents need to get more involved too. I see the same few parents everytime. No support but want to complain when something goes wrong! I would love to see a vibrant PTA and Booster Club.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

The principal at this school seems more interested in creating a 'cult of personality' than he does in student achievement. The best teachers are leaving the school in droves. Most parents who can send their kids to any other school available. Nothing will change at this school until its leadership is based on talent and achievement instead of political connections.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

East Iberville is a school with untapped potential- beautiful buildings and facilities. However, the administration seems to be 'all talk and no action'. Test scores continue to plummet under the current leadership, students continue to abandon the school, and community support is minimal at best. It is a school in precipitous decline, and unless things change radically soon, my children will be sent elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2007

As the mother of two children who graduated from East Iberville I want to say both of my children are doing well. Many parents over the years have complained about the high school English teacher but I can tell you from experienced our children were prepared for college and are doing well in English. If you child is coming home with no homework maybe they are not bring it home. Be involved with your children and their education. East Iberville may not be perfect and I don't know of a school that is...but we can count on one thing...children are learning if they want to learn ...by the way everyone use to complain about the discipline at the school. Thanks Mr. Johnson for turning it around. Congratulations to the many students who are receiving scholarships and have to colleges such as Tulane, LSU, Xavier and many others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

I am so disappointed in this school. It is such a beautiful facility to be such a failure at educating our children. It seems that there is no vision or plan at East Iberville for improvement. My children often come home for days with no homework and are no longer interested in school. The teachers just seem to be doing the same thing over and over again and it shows in the test scores that are going DOWN each year. As soon as I can, I will enroll my children in a school that really works. The only thing going for East Iberville is the discipline...but that is not enough to teach children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

The staff is very helpful, the principals are excellent. The school is very much under control. This school deserves a very high rating. It is a big improvement. Thanks for teaching my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

I have two daughters that attend East Iberville High School. I am impressed with the overall performance of the school both academically and with extracurricular activities. As parents, it is important that we know our children are safe and receiving a quality education. It is also important for the success of the school that there is 100% parental involvement in the academic portion of the school. Teachers & parents have to work together in order for our children to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I think East Iberville would be a better school if parents would get more involved. My child academiaclly has done well at the school since she's been there(shes now in the 4th grade).Her father and I help her with her homework. We feel its our responsibility as parents to assist in our child education. I think the school should have a band and more students that get involved in sports and other extracurricular activities. I just think that parents should become a part of the solution by being involved, if not they become part of the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
34%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

41 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

41 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
39%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
30%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
25%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
62%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 83% 45%
White 14% 49%
Hispanic 2% 3%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Maria Delouise
Fax number
  • (225) 642-9607

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3285 Louisiana 75
St. Gabriel, LA 70776
Phone: (225) 642-0032

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT