Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

W. W. Lewis Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

My daughter went to WW Lewis. I remember we were new to the town and school. We walked into the school right away I felt a since belonging for my daughter and me. The faculty and the students who have attended the school before were so helpful and knowledgeable about the teachers and classes they even walked me and my daughter to some of her classes. As a parent I felt this was the school that she will do fine at. My daughter went on and spent the next 2 years there and she was ready for high school with the confidence that she can make it anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

I go to W.W. Lewis Middle School. It is an amazing school that is very put together and safe. LMS offers much more than other middle schools, however this school is fun, not threatening and there is always something fun going on -elyse legros
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

The teachers and faculty are the best! They truly care about all of the students and want to see them excel!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

this school awsome good teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2009

Having had three children go through this school, I am very pleased. The teachers care and are very dedicated to doing all they can to make sure every child is learning. The school is safe and, although large, it has a family atmosphere. There are many activities to interest everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

Well, my expierence with Lewis was not a good one. The bullying is out of hand, the administration, nor the teachers act like they care what some students go through in a days time there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

i am a current student at W . W. Lewis Middle School i am now attending 7th grade and it is totally fun and there is great learing and i hope every child gets a chance to go here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2004

WW Lewis has been the best at teaching and giving my daugther all the tools to make it through high school that she will need. The teachers are Excellent.The Principl and his staff couldn't do a better job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2003

Teachers highly motivated and involved with students. Safety a high priority. Curriculum excellent. Parents (at least when my child was there) very involved and included in activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2003

very good school the teacher take the time to teach the kids and they go above and beond of what they have too to get across to the kids thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 47%
Black 9% 45%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael A Dougherty
Fax number
  • (337) 217-4701

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1752 Cypress Street
Sulphur, LA 70663
Phone: (337) 217-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Our Lady's School
Sulphur, LA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT