Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sulphur High School

Public | 8-12 | 1925 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, November 14, 2014

Other then the principles and lack of security (they don't care if someone steals your stuff) it's a good school got a phone call one time my kid skipped a class to read I understand skipping is wrong but when the principle called me he said that my daughter was in the stair well with her boyfriend. When my daughter had skipped she texted me and told me she wasn't going to class she was going sit in the library and read. Now I believe that is unacceptable that the principle who is supposed to be making sure my kid stays out of trouble lied to me. To be sure my daughter wasn't lying I called her boyfriend parents am he wasn't even in school that day So other then the principles I believe it's a good school


Posted June 27, 2014

OFFERS THE STUDENTS TO BECOME VERY INDEPENDANT. LOVE THE TWO CAMPUSES THAT OFFER THEM TO EASE INTO THE HIGH SCHOOL WORLD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

Sulphur High School was the best years of my life It is a five star scvhool


Posted February 19, 2012

The best school in the parish, and perhaps the state. A strong sense of COMMUNITY, does well in Academics, athletics, and student/parent/teacher connections. .It has a long tradition of excellence. All my children have graduated from there and I have 2 more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

My years at Sulphur High School were the best years of my life. Sulphur is a tight knit community and the school is a very tight knit school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

SHS performs well for a large school. The leadership is outstanding and the Ninth Grade campus is a huge asset.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

This is my 3rd child to be enrolled in this school. Although I have to admit things have gotten a bit better, I don't have much to say about the way discipline is carried out. I think that the entire system, including alot of the teachers (not all thank God), is bias and close minded. I pulled 2 out but the 3rd likes it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2007

It is the best HS in the parish, perhaps the state of La. - hands down!! Education is #1 and there is a sense of community here that I have never felt before. I don't have to worry about my child, because there are teachers who care and other parents who would step up if my child needed guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2004

I was very pleased to see that they have done a great job on our new school. We are looking forward to a wonderful year. The staff that we have will be just great for all of our 9th graders. My son has done nothing but rave about how great all of his teacher are this year, and that is such a big change from our past years at Maplewood Middle..boys can be boys...Thanks Cal. Parish for your investment in our childrens future, Sulphur needed this new school. Thanks Again.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

481 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

481 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
34%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
53%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
51%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 47%
Black 9% 45%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Milford K Bonin
Fax number
  • (337) 217-4434

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Sycamore Street
Sulphur, LA 70663
Phone: (337) 217-4430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Our Lady's School
Sulphur, LA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT