Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lucille Cherbonnier Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2013

I don't even know where to begin with this school. The secretaries were rude, and because of them my daughter missed her initial placement test for kindergarten. They could not hold a principal. School to parent communication was virtually zero. To this day, after a full school year, we still do not know if every Friday was dress down day. My daughter was bullied, came home with a black eye, and slap marks, and had small personal items stolen from older kids on the bus, and the school did nothing about it. Meanwhile, she was placed in school counseling for her behavior. There were school drivers that smoked cigarettes on the bus. When we mentioned this to the school board, we were told it would be taken care of, or we could take it up with the principal, even though for the last six months of the school year they didn't even have a principal. Although the teacher wasn't too bad, she seemed constantly overwhelmed, although the specific teacher seemed to try. Maybe a good teacher in an awful school. I'm ashamed I let my daughter go to this school for an entire school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

My child is attending this school and I must say that I am so disappointed. I can't believe who they let in to teach. The teachers treat the children like dirt and are constantly raising their voices. It seems they don't even have the patience to be teachers or school staff. I have honestly never seen such behavior from teachers in my life. It is even to the point that the kids are cursed at and that I find totally unacceptable. The first opportunity I get to get my child out... I AM!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

This school does not have enough rewarding for the students who work hard. That can be little discouraging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

My children have been with this school for two years. I have notice ..teachers come and go quickly. Just no stability! Overall....it's ok....needs a lot of improvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

I believe the 5th graders at this school is amazing!They work so hard on thier reading.Mostly i should grag about the teachers that help them do so well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

4 years and looking forward to another Great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

This might make me sound less educated, but this school absolutly SUCKS!!! They have been on acedemic probation with the school board since my son attended kindergarden there 4 years ago. The principle is USELESS! Also, the teacher turn over rate is the worst I have ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

We have attended for 3 years now, and have found the quality of the teachers to be very poor. We've had several different teachers in this last year and the majority did not seem qualified to teach. They are so overwhelmed with the class size I feel it hinders them from teaching. The last Teacher is very qualified but seems but very unorganized. The Teacher does not test weekly or provide a weekly homework sheet. I can't track my child's weekly progress. I've made several request for some type of schedule & have not received one. I've spoken with the Principal and Assistant Principal on several ocassions and the Principal's comments are 'I leave all classroom issues up to the Teacher, It's their decision'. Frankly, I'm very disturbed by this. It's suppose to be about the children, not the teachers. - disturbed in waggaman
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

This is our second year attending here, and I have mixed reviews. I LOVED both the teachers he has had last year, and this. I didn't care for the principal last year, but she has really turned herself around. She has her work cut out for herself, but I think they need some 'uniformity'. That will get better with time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 71% 45%
White 17% 47%
Hispanic 10% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Constance Groue
Fax number
  • (504) 431-1236

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Dandelion Drive
Waggaman, LA 70094
Phone: (504) 431-9740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT