Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riser Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2009

I have a grandson going to riser and is a special needs child with downs. Last year was a good year for my grandson but this year the start has been a nightmare from day 1. The changes made is not good for the special needs and that is what they are special needs. At age 4 they do not need to be put in with regular students. Teachers that have no ideal about the special needs, need to educate there self. They need the one on one time not just child in the class room. My grandson can't talk so he cant defend himself. With downs kids they are all different but with the same needs and attention. My grandson with downs is 4 but his mind is age 2. And to have them sit in the hall till bell rings is fine for your regular students but not downs.


Posted June 12, 2009

my son has been going to riser for preschool and i can say that riser school is far one of the best schools that i have seen in along time the teacher are so wounderful and they are graet with the kids. my son and i are realy pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

My daughter attended Riser Elementary for kindergarten last year. She was a straight A, Principal's List student all year long. A product of Ms. Booker's wonderful teaching, of course! She really came out of her shell and became much more confident simply because of the enriching atmosphere Ms. Booker provided! I can't say enough about the teachers and staff at Riser Elementary! They are very dedicated educators and in my opinion, they exceed all expectations that I could imagine an educational institution SHOULD be! All I can say is 'Thank you!' to Ms. Booker, Ms. Zordan, and Ms. Trish! My family moved to Texas after my daughter's kindergarten graduation, and I have to say that I am having a hard time finding that 'great Texas education' you hear so much about. You ALL have set the bar quite high. We will always remember what you have done for her and us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2008

My son went to Riser from Kindergarden thru the 8th. Never had any problems outside the norm. Now, my grandson starts Pre-K this month. I hope it's still a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

I have had 3 children and 1 grandchild attend Riser and have been very happy with their experiences there. After my children attended a more 'popular' school, we chose to return to the Riser school district because the 'pier pressure' was not a problem compared to some of the other schools. My children also felt like they were at home, not just a number. If you were involved in the school at all, they knew your name and welcomed you. Thank you to all the teachers and staff for making my children's experience great!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My son started kindergarden this past year and I was nervous about not being with him throughout the day. His teacher, Ms. Booker is one of the most caring and compassionate person I've met. I didn't have to worry about him at all. The principal, Mrs. Zordan is wonderful. She goes beyond expectations to make Riser the best school ever. Teachers I met throughout the year are very friendly and down to earth. In my opinion, Riser Elm. is the best school for my son. Susan
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I think that Riser is a great school.The teachers are great and the principal is great,and they want the parent's to be involved to help out and to volunteer in the clasrooms.From my experience it is a great school for your children to be able to go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

I have two children in riser. I think riser is great. My son is ADHD they have worked with him and worried with him. That means a lot to a working parent that can't be there all of the time. I have had teachers bring my children home because I got off late and could not pick them up. Hats off to Riser Elm. Thanks to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

I do not agree that Riser is a great school. I feel the classes are too full and the students do not get enough, if any one on one time. The teachers don't seem to love the kids or their jobs. I myself am a former student of Riser and I know that the kids get away with alot. Mr. Whitten really could be a bit more aggressive. This will be the one and only year my child attends Riser.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2004

I am a former student of Riser Elementary. I attended from 1986 to 1995. I thoroughly enjoyed going to Riser. All the teachers I had were wonderful teachers. Mr. Whitten is a great principal. There was great parental involvement in school activities. I would highly recommend people send their children to Riser. My regards to all the great teachers I had when I was at Riser.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 12, 2004

I am a former student of Riser Elementary School. I attended Riser Elementary from Kindergarten through 8th grade and I would like to let you know that I believe Riser Elementary School to be not only the top educational institution in Louisiana but throughout the United States. Please send my regards to Ms. BoBo and Mr. Whitten.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 47%
Black 28% 45%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nicole Zordan
Fax number
  • (318) 387-6801

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Price Drive
West Monroe, LA 71292
Phone: (318) 387-0577

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Northeast Baptist School
West Monroe, LA


Northeast Baptist School
West Monroe, LA


Lenwil Elementary School
West Monroe, LA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT