Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy

Public | 6-12 | 350 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2010

I sort of like PFTSTA, because the homework level is medium/low, and isn't overly easy or overly hard. I like that we get laptops, but after all, we do go to a 'science and technology' academy. Can't they get more hi-tech computers? These computers are more trouble than they are worth.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2009

As one of the first teachers at Taylor, I've been able to watch it grow and improve during its few years of existence. The students and teachers work hard to live up to the high expectations and standards that have become the norm at Taylor - we strive to do our best on a daily basis. Overall, the atmosphere is encouraging and supportive. A shared goal of our faculty is to provide our students with an education that will help them develop into capable, confident, and responsible young adults. It has been an honor and a pleasure teaching at Taylor!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 24, 2009

I am a 7th grader at this school. I love it very much it can be challenging at times but thats what makes it so special. I am very proud to be in our school. I <3 Patrick F. Taylor
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2009

This school is an excellent school. It is very challenging and high tech. I like it here.(:
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 13, 2009

I am a student that goes to PFTSTA. I am going into 7th grade this year and so far I think this school is great. We do get a lot of work but i think that will help us in the future. Some of the work may be hard but we have our teachers to help us throughout. Any question that I needed help with most of my teachers came through. I have made a lot of friends this year and hopefully will make more. If you want to come to this school, you have to put all of your effort into the work. Be prepared for hours of homework and projects. If you get a D on you report card you will be on Magnet probation, if you get a F on your report card you might get kicked out the school. But Besides that I love PFTSTA very much!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

I am a student that has attended PFTSTA from its start as an all day school. This school is one of the things that looks good on paper, but when actually carried out fails to meet the desired result. The school has some very good teachers that help you learn and want you to succeed, but for every great teacher there are 2 that come and go and don't teach us what we need to learn and understand for the future. Although some of the staff is lacking, the student environment is excellent. No one is picked on and there's only been 1 fight, that wasn't serious, since the school was founded. Everybody knows each other and it's very easy to make friends. Be ready for about 5-8 hours of work a night and multiple projects most of the time at the same time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2009

The principles of the founder of this school have been forgotten. The Principal and some staffers are bias and play favorites with children. A great education is based on fairness and all children should be treated equal. Those principles are missing at this school. Beware
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

The concepts of the school are admirable; the majority of educators are exceptional; there are a few teachers that just don't fit the school; the adminstration and leadership are lacking. As graduation approaches, there is a realization how ineffective this school is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

This school may seem great, but as your son/daughter reaches closer to his graduation year, he/she will realize that all the classes and stress he/she was put on was not worth it because he won't even need them in the future. The school also lacks good administrative faculty. Their lack of experience and favortisim in the school affects the students a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

PFT has really jumpstarted my son's interest in science. He's always wanted to be a meteorologist and this school has only fed his dream and made it feel real to him. This oppertunity has been absolutely priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

The academics of this school are excelent and help create a positive environment for the students. The extracurricular activaties help the students express themselve after a long day of work or throughout the day and help the child with the collaberation skills which is a part of the schools grading and outcomes. The parents of students are very involved with this school. The parents help with PAC meeting and help support the school and are very contributive towards the Patrick Taylor community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

24 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

24 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 47%
Black 20% 45%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 1%
Hispanic 10% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jaime Zapico
Fax number
  • (504) 838-7029

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 Churchill Parkway
Westwego, LA 70094
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 838-2249

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT