Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Youngsville Middle School

Public | 4-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2013

Have not been Impressed with YMS. Our child has experienced a lot of Bullying. Several teachers are very lazy with keeping grades current. As far as education level, maybe better than most in Louisiana, but they are way behind compared to other states.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

My daughter went one year here, 5th grade and I loved the school. The teachers and principal work well together and the rules are well structured. I like that they focus more on academics than extracurriculars and that they offer advanced classes to the students who don't quite make it into the gifted program. I am still fighting the school board to get her back into this school inspite of a move we made across the parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I love my school even if some of the rules they expect us to follow are kind of lame. The teachers are great except for a few and you can tell they truley enjoy teaching the kids in their classes even iif they do get a bit rowdy. Im happy to be a student at YMS. There could be more sports and clubs like a swim team or a step team but other then that its a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 23, 2009

This school does not have the extracurricular activities that I think are extremely useful for the students at this school. Some are good,but there are not enough sports. My child's academic grades have not been too good and I tried to get invloved, but it did not work. my child is in fifth grade and it does not seem to have enough qualified teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

This year, my son entered fifth grade at Youngsville Middle School. They have made the transistion exceptionally smooth. The staff is super helpful and always attentive. I'm most impressed with his teachers. They don't settle for average. Their students are expected to maximize their potential! I'm very proud to be a YMS mom. Michelle Marcotte
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

Awesome school spirit and exellent education. Everyone is nice and everyday of school is super exciting and fun!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2007

Overall I feel YMS offers our children a great fondation for their future. However, the office staff does not welcome parents and don't expect a Good Morning or Smile from them. They have way too much work to do to stop and greet parents. As for the qualitiy of an education, the 6th grade teachers at YMS can not and will never be beat! They are truly teachers who teach from the heart!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

I really like Youngsville. The people there are great, and most of the teachers are pretty nice. They do worry a LOT about what we are wearing, and most people get in trouble for little things. Through last year I do think that there was an improvement though, they started letting us wear sweatshirts with hoods like all the other schools. I think we're only progressing[:
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2007

I have been very pleased with YMS. The teachers and administration are excellent. They are very responsive whenever I have had a question about anything about my son. As far as the discipline and conduct of the students, the staff has an excellent program. Not only do they discipline, they give incentive points. I couldn't be more pleased with my sons school!! Go Dragons!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

The new principal, Mr. Comb, has been the best thing that's happened to this school. Now when you walk into school, it feels welcoming and comfortable. Discipline is handeled better and parents are informed immediately of important events. He even held a community garden event at school. Kids are really held accountable for their actions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

Youngsville is a great school and has many clubs that you can get envolved in. Most of the teachers are awesome and love what they're doing. My only complant about this school is that they don't do much to support 'school spirit' and they worry about how were dressed (uniforms) more than how well were doing.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 47%
Black 14% 45%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Darrel Comb
Fax number
  • (337) 521-7941
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Through the parent/teacher organization and partners in education program
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
G.T. Lindon Elementary
Ernest Gallet Elementary

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Comeaux High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P.O. Box 1049
Youngsville, LA 70592
Website: Click here
Phone: (337) 521-7940

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Cecilia School
Broussard, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT