Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northwestern Middle School

Public | 5-8 | 1208 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2014

After reading the other reviews, I speculate they were written by faculty. The school is not so great. If your child is academically gifted or profoundly disabled, it s a great school. If your child is somewhere in the middle, they will do ok. If your child has any type of learning disability, don t go there. For every 504 accommodation, you will have to hold their feet to the fire. There are some good and caring teachers, but the administration is uncaring and at times, verbally abusive. I know several families, including mine, which enrolled their child in private school for grades 6-8.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Awesome school system! Great teachers, staff & students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

I love this school it is very good in discipline and extracurricular activities I can't wait until next year
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2008

I am in the 8th grade at nms and it is great. All the teachers and staff are great and when you walk in the school your going to feel loved.The teachers treat you like their own and i love them.I reccomend you letting your children come to zachary community school they will be safe and loved!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

I went to this school in 6th grade and I am now headed into 8th grade.I can tell you that this school was the best school in Louisiana and the teachers teach but in a fun way.They are able to do more extra activities because the disicpline at this school is great.As a formor student I can say this is a great school.


Posted September 6, 2007

My daughter is new to Northwestern Middle School, and I can tell already that I will love it. They offer a very diverse category of electives that stimulate skills and appeal to that age group. The rules are tough, but at this age group, I agree that discipline is needed. The teachers are concerned and knowledgeable, and take an interest in the students personally. Robin Sharpe
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

Northwestern Middle School has high parent involvement, an incredible, devoted principal and faculty, and is continuing to improve its test scores each year. NWM had the highest 8th grade LEAP scores for all of the public schools in the state. The school itself is being slowly demolished and replaced with new facilities, which is an added benefit. We have been extremely impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

This school is a really great school. My daughter talks about how the principal always goes around and has some one on one involement with the students. The teachers all have their own website so the parents can keep up with the assignments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

The safety and discipline make it possible for the children to learn. I wish there were more of the arts available. Neither child goes out for sports - their studies and music take up there extracurricular time. Last year the girls were at different schools, so I wasn't as actively involved in either PTO as I would have liked. From the e-mails I received, the PTOs at both schools are supportive. Judging by the email addresses in one of the letters I received, there are a decent number of people signed up for PTO. Overall, the teachers are fair and supportive. When I wrote or called, I always got positive responses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

This school is excellent and that is because of the staff. They are great with the kids. They really care. I am a single mom, trying to raise 3 kids in this school system. One in the high school, one in the elementary school, and the other at the middle school. The teachers at the middle school and elementary school are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 47%
Black 46% 45%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Debby Brian
Fax number
  • (225) 658-2025

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5200 East Central Avenue
Zachary, LA 70791
Phone: (225) 654-9201

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT