Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Public
Zachary, LA
Students enrolled: 1,208

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northwestern Middle School 2

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
Academically, this is a good school if your child is a smart from the get go. I agree with the parent that says if your child is on a 504/IEP (which is mandated by the federal gov't), they do not honor it at this school. I have witnessed the asst principle verbally abuse a child in my presence (luckily it wasnt mine). Children are punished from he/say/she say interviews and the student is never allowed to give their side of the story. My child is very intelligent and smart, but has a learning disability, therefore he needs a 504/IEP because every little thing that goes wrong is some how my child's fault. Please don't let the #1 school district fool you if you are not an advocate for your child your child will fall victim to the Zachary Community School System!!!!!

Northwestern Middle School 2

Posted July 15, 2014
- a parent
After reading the other reviews, I speculate they were written by faculty. The school is not so great. If your child is academically gifted or profoundly disabled, it s a great school. If your child is somewhere in the middle, they will do ok. If your child has any type of learning disability, don t go there. For every 504 accommodation, you will have to hold their feet to the fire. There are some good and caring teachers, but the administration is uncaring and at times, verbally abusive. I know several families, including mine, which enrolled their child in private school for grades 6-8.


Northwestern Middle School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
Awesome school system! Great teachers, staff & students!

Northwestern Middle School 5

Posted April 26, 2009
- a student
I love this school it is very good in discipline and extracurricular activities I can't wait until next year

Northwestern Middle School 5

Posted April 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Northwestern Middle School 0
no rating

Posted November 28, 2008
- a student
I am in the 8th grade at nms and it is great. All the teachers and staff are great and when you walk in the school your going to feel loved.The teachers treat you like their own and i love them.I reccomend you letting your children come to zachary community school they will be safe and loved!

Northwestern Middle School 5

Posted September 11, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Northwestern Middle School 5

Posted May 28, 2008
- a community member
I went to this school in 6th grade and I am now headed into 8th grade.I can tell you that this school was the best school in Louisiana and the teachers teach but in a fun way.They are able to do more extra activities because the disicpline at this school is great.As a formor student I can say this is a great school.


Northwestern Middle School 5

Posted September 06, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is new to Northwestern Middle School, and I can tell already that I will love it. They offer a very diverse category of electives that stimulate skills and appeal to that age group. The rules are tough, but at this age group, I agree that discipline is needed. The teachers are concerned and knowledgeable, and take an interest in the students personally. Robin Sharpe

Northwestern Middle School 5

Posted June 01, 2007
- a parent
Northwestern Middle School has high parent involvement, an incredible, devoted principal and faculty, and is continuing to improve its test scores each year. NWM had the highest 8th grade LEAP scores for all of the public schools in the state. The school itself is being slowly demolished and replaced with new facilities, which is an added benefit. We have been extremely impressed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northwestern Middle School
5200 East Central Avenue, Zachary, LA  70791
(225) 654-9201
Last modified Northwestern Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northwestern Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top