Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Zachary High School

Public | 8-12 | 1435 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2013

There is zero accountability within the Zachary Community School System. They care more about being #1 than the welfare of their students. Everything revolves around politics and the importance of the school's image. Their focus for the school year is prepping for the state test. Outside of that they are not taught much. Zachary students are not taught to use critical thinking skills and the admins have no desire to foster the spirit of the individual. They would prefer it if all students dressed alike, thought alike, and acted alike. Now that being said, there are good teachers who care within the school system. They do have an excellent program for gifted/talented students. The honors program could use some work and their selection of electives are decent. Zachary Schools are #1 and should be. They study for nothing but the test until around Mar./April and they are the only school within the system since they had themselves separated from East Baton Rouge Parish. Zachary is highly overrated. Claiming you're #1 in a state that ranks 49th nationally does not seem much of an achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Zachary is the best school. We have our ups and downs and that happens everywhere. They are helpful and keeps the kids out of trouble. This is almost like collage the way eveything is presented. There is no time wasting because once school starts you do work bell to bell. Yes the have a few crazy rules but other than that the school is really great you should think about inrolling your child


Posted May 27, 2009

I think the school is just average. I find the administration and the guidance counselors to be snooty and have an unhelpful attitude. The only reason they are '#1' in the state is because there is only one high school and they teach to the test. Any school district sould be number one if they only have one school...Jeez.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

I bellive Zachary High school is the best school your child could ever attend in the state of Louisiana. If you are wanting your child to suceed in the future they should come to Zachary High School because their district is number one in the state
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2008

I think that Zachary High is wonderful in academic and Football but they need more teachers who care about their students. Most teachers and the principal is more worried about being ranked # 1 in the district until they are putting students out of class and suspending them for just about anything. They say that they are there for the students but seems to me that they are thare just to keep a name for theselves.


Posted January 31, 2008

Im am a student of zachary high. And I think that the school is very overcrowded. There is always construction going on around the school. Dont get me wrong though, there are some teachers that care alot about there students and want there students to get out of school but others just dont care about the average student. The principal is so worried about dress infractions, and getting to class on time that he doesn't even know your Submitted by a student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

I would like to commend all of Zachary schools for their hard work to be a perfect school system.I recently moved to Zachary and have 4 kids in different schools, and the teachers are great,they works together and keep me very informed on everything my children do. They keep an open line of communication with me.I appreciate that. I have to say the only other thing they could offer at these schools is for the teachers to come home with you.(smile) They are wonderful and very concerned about your kids and mine. I must admit their grading system I may never understand,they grade very hard, about college level, but I know my children will make it, and be very well prepared for college. Thanks Teachers falculty for caring for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

My daughter is new to Zachary High School this year and has been placed in honors programs for most of her classes. The discipline is strict, which for this age group of teenagers, I believe is necessary. There is a diverse group of electives and groups for the students to join, including both art and buisness. The teachers all seem to be very caring and interested in the students lives. I am glad we chose Zachary High for our daughter. Great Job and congratulations to the teachers and principle for such a well rounded school. Robin Sharpe
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

I think that the're better teachers now that we have The Freshman acadimy. those teachers are so determinded to get you through the 9th grade. Zachary High is one of the best schools in louisiana...
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2007

My son had a great 9th grade year at ZHS. Yes, it was a more challenging year than middle school, but high school is more difficult in every aspect. I think the teachers knew my child well and did their best to keep me informed about his progress. I appreciated the JPAMS Parent Command Center because I could keep up with my son's academic progress. I also appreciated how all of his teachers kept up their daily homework pages. I knew what homework my son had and I could monitor his daily work. Some parents just let their kids go without supervision, but I think that it it my responsibility to make sure that he gets the daily help from me until he can prove that he is mature enough to do it all on his own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

I am really not pleased with the 9th grade teachers at this school. I think that they need to be more like the middle school and be aware of what is going on with the kids that they are teaching. They need to be more informative with the parents. Extracurricular activities at this school are excellent. The football coach really cares and he is a wonderful man that has helped me with my child. The attendance office is also a big help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

343 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

343 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 47%
Black 44% 45%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 School Street
Zachary, LA 70791
Phone: (225) 654-2776

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT