Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Glenburn Elementary School

Public | K-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2013

My grandchildren go to school at the Glenburn School and they are very good to the kids there. Nada, who works in the office is very attentive to the children. She is from our same home town and she knows my kids and my kids kids. Her daughter went to schoo with my daughter and so Nada always looks out for the kids and checks on them if anything is wrong or they have forgotten something they needed. She is great and makes me feel like my grandchildren are safe in this school.


Posted September 5, 2011

Great School! Wonderful! The teachers and the staff are so good with the kids! Wonderful School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

Having had kids in this school system for the last 9 years and 5 more years to come we have been very pleased with the education they have received. Very attentive staff to all the kids needs. If a student needs help there are many channels in place for them to get the best options for them. Staff goes above and beyond to stay and help the Middle School kids and the pride in the school shows! Many school groups and sports to be involved with as well such as Chess Team, Track, CRT and Art Club and Destination Imagination. Parental involvement is highly welcomed and can be seen each year in all the functions such as the annual spring field days. Great small school enviroment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

There are not as many kids making the honor roll as I would like to see. For example for the yr. 2009/2010 out of approximately 40 kids in the 7th grade, only around 8 of them actually made the honor roll with A's and B's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

I really think there are several things this school needs to work on. The students are not treated fairly, some are favorited, and some are left out. The students that are having issues are also not having their needs be met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My children have been in the Glenburn School System and our experience has been a very positive one. The high quality teachers and the low child to teacher ratios have truly afforded them an excellent education. The high academic standards they set, the creative ways they present the material, their emphasis on learning across both the home and school environments and their overall team approach are to be applauded. As a parent I feel informed about my children's learning strengths and areas for development. I feel like toe teachers are genuinely interested in my child's academis, social and emotional. I would highly recommend the Glenburn Schoool to parents that are considering a public school education for their children. Keep up the good work--As parents, my husband & I rtuly appreciate all you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2007

Both of my children our new the glenburn school and we and the children have enjoyed the new school and like it better then there old school. my son is in the 3rd grade and finally he is being changelled. My daughter is in K and she also is being more changelled then she was. The staff is so friendly and i am very glad that they have the after school program there as well for working parents such as my self. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

The Glenburn School has an outstanding veteran faculty dedicated to best practices for students. I have always been impressed with the daily team work I see among the staff. Low student-teacher ratios mean that every student gets the nurturing attention he needs. I'd start all over again at the Glenburn School without question.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

My son requires extra help with his studies due to a learning disability. I have found that the teaches that he has had from K to 4th grade are wonderful. They care about him and are always willing to help him with any project that he needs. I feel that this new 'no child left behind' rule has hurt the teachers more than it has helped them. They study items that would not be a part of the regular course. About people sending their children to private schools.. it's their choice. They are the ones that have driven up our tax's by moving to Glenburn because the children can go to any high school they want. If you want to go to a certain school move to that town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2004

How many Glenburn children do not attend Glenburn School, but rather private or Christian schools? The MEA scores are deplorable and reflect the poor quality of the educational process at Glenburn School. An in-depth study should look into the secondary level academic success and failure rates of Glenburn School graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2004

In their earlier years at Glenburn we didn't have a good principal and he didn't know how to deal with serious issues. After he was ousted the school got better. Renovations also made a big difference. Safety is a huge issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

991 Hudson Road
Bangor, ME 04401
Phone: (207) 207-9478

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Downeast School
Bangor, ME




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT