Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William S. Cohen School

Public | 6-8 | 394 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 29, 2013

Cohen School is amazing. The teachers are great, the instruction is wonderful, and it has been an awesome school to go to. Its one of the best schools to go to.


Posted May 7, 2013

I couldn't have wished for a better school for my daughter for the last 3 years. In my opinion grades 6-8 are the most formative years which prepare our kids for the future learning which will carry them into what they choose to accomplish in work, community and life. The staff is amazing! The environment a happy one. We will be sorry to leave. But they have prepared my daughter to excel in everything she does while enjoying the journey along the way. You will not be disappointed if your child has the opp to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

Awesome school, great teachers, awesome gym coaches, fun sports, Just AWESOME!!! I love cohen school. It's the best.


Posted April 26, 2010

My Daughter goes to Cohen School and I feel it is a very good school... They have a great 'Life Skills' program that can teach a child to make it out there in the real world....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

teachers here are pretty cool :) and nice setting for actually getting work done
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2009

I think cohen school is a great school with lots to offer as well as learning. They also teach them life skills and other important information for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

Very supportive and involved teachers for my two children in the 7th and 8th grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

Cohen wa great! t teachers were amazing, the students were nice, and there are tons of things for every student to do. I completley recommend Cohen to any parents looking for a new school. Everyone there really cares about the students and there success. I love that they reward students for not only there athletic ability, but also there academic abilities too. This is nice because many school apper to revolve around the athletic kids,and sometimes the honor student seem o fall into the background, but not at cohen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2007

Cohen school is the coolest! The teachers are awesome! There are also oodles of after school activities so no one is left bored. And, on top of that, you can band chorus of orchestra before school even starts! It's the best school I've ever een to!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2007

I love it take it from me! i will go there next year!I love how the community is terrific! The teachers are wonderful and every child does their best! It is fun and we usually get our homework done in class! We do have loads of fun with after school stuff and the lockers and have I mentioned the techers?? Everything is great!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Black 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

304 Garland St
Bangor, ME 04401
Phone: (207) 941-6230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT