Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Penobscot Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 64 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bangor

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2013

Our son started K there this past year. We were enveloped in the school "community" and appreciated the parental involvement at all levels, access to teachers and support staff as parents. Our son THRIVED in his class which had a great student-to-teacher ratio where she was able to work directly with each child and tailor each day to the student. We were very impressed with the knowledge, skills and scores that really seemed to give kids a upper hand when heading to high school when interviewing families and past students. VERY happy to have found PCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

This school has always had low student-to-teacher ratios, which benefits the kids that attend. There is one teacher that has been trained by the NILD (National Institute for Learning Development) to assist students with diagnosed processing weakness or learning disabilities, although she is primarily a classroom teacher at this time. Still, her skills have benefitted many students over the last several years, and the school is stronger for it. If you want a school where parents have more say in their children's education than anywhere else but homeschooling, this is the school to consider for PreK-8th grade.


Posted January 12, 2012

Since movingto Maine from New York five and a half years ago, my children have attended P.C.S. What I have found there is that the teachers as well as the Headmaster take a genuine interest in caring for, and teaching the children. The school while Christian, does not lag behind in education. In fact, I think that what they teach at P.C.S. if far more than any public school does. Not only are the classes small, but from what I have experienced, most of the students have a very positive attitude and take pride in what and how they learn. I would recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a high quality education for their children or grandchildren.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Very good school, children are taught that being a bully is not fun and its not 'cool': Teachers are wonderful there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2004

We have sent all four of our children to Penobscot Christian and have been very satisfied. The teachers are very talented and foster an atmospehere of Christian care and compassion. I've always been impressed with the extra emphasis on teaching kids how to deal with conflict, to show love and respect to their class mates and to their teachers, and to live out the Gospel in practical ways. They have all been properly prepared for high school and with the school's small size, sports participation has always afforded easy access. In my opinion, it is the best school in our area for K-8 training and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2004

It is a privilege to be able to tell you about this wonderful school. Penobscot Christian School offers my children a safe, nurturing environment to receive an excellent academic education. The small classroom sizes have benefited my children greatly. Penobscot Christian School also offers my children a biblically sound environment, enabling them to grow in the love and admonition of the Lord. Each member of the staff and faculty have only the best interest of the students at heart. They truly see their work at Penobscot Christian School as a ministry, making it possible for their students to receive superior academic and spiritual training. I would reccomend this unique and precious school to any family who desires to implement an extention of their own Christian family into the lives of their children, fulfilling their responsiblilty to provide a biblically-based, Christ-centered educational program characterized by academic excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2004

For parents who want Christian education that is an extension of the home, PCS is the school to check out! Nondenominational, God-centered, academically excellent, nurturing a biblical view of man and the world, teaching children to love Jesus Christ--PCS did that for me as a student way back in its earliest years, 1980-1984. It is still doing that today. PCS is a parent-sponsored school, and school's fortunes rise and fall as parents take (or fail to take) ownership of the school by fulfilling their responsibilities within it. Certified teachers use parent helpers for reading groups and one-on-one tutoring. Other parents serve hot lunch, drive for field trips, help clean the school, mow the lawn, and so much more. As a former student, and the current headmaster, I cannot recommend PCS more highly than I do here. We are Christian education for the children of Christian parents. Come join us!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 94%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1423 Ohio St
Bangor, ME 04401
Website: Click here
Phone: (207) 947-2704

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Downeast School
Bangor, ME






Fairmount School
Bangor, ME


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT