Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Benton Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
The School Board of Directors have repeatedly mislead the public with the facts concerning the District and this is recorded both in public video, minutes recorded and on facebook account "Arel Spaulding (School Board e-mails)".

Benton Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Knowlen is a GREAT teacher now working in another district. Her attention to the students capabilities and needs were second to none.


Benton Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
School Board of Directors and administration has openly stated that it will not develop a viable gifted and talented program. Any student with capable skills is lost in the shuffle of the redundant excuses and personal interests of individuals as there is no governing body, only a group of individuals. Leadership and teamwork is not evident at the School Board level on down.

Benton Elementary School 1

Posted January 21, 2015
- a parent
After several attempts to view the curriculum from K-12 communicating directly to the staff, administration, school board and the Department of Education Office in Augusta, one year later a curriculum was provided by the Superintendent for our review. The curriculum provided was incomplete and out dated. After becoming a School Board member 2014 both School Board Policies and Curriculum are now available online. There are 13 School Board members that make up the School Board yet three School Board members and the Superintendent meet each week and discuss business without involving the other members of the School Board and meet without public notice or agenda. The School Board has not followed Policy ADA which requires them to set annual goals in cooperation with the staff, administration and citizens of the community. Setting annual goals per policy ADA have not been complied with for many years. The School Board as a body has publicly stated they are not required to hear public comments or concerns. When suggesting to have goals established and a schedule set to meet those goals and review progress, the School Board refused to adopt this basic practice of success.

Benton Elementary School 2

Posted August 05, 2013
- a community member
I attended Benton Elementary. I think you should know the food is not edible!! I did, however, like the Day Care though it was a bit pricey. The School could improve by upgrading from coat hangers to miniature lockers, and might want to serve grilled cheese that won't break a tooth, or bounce like a rubber ball..


Benton Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
We have an incredible school family. There are so many wonderful things that have been done. Donations are made by the staff and students to the local food pantry. Christmas donations are made to the area giving tree. If a family is in need due to a traumatic event, the school family bonds together to assist that family. Children are encouraged to be creative, compassionate members of society. PTO members support staff by providing periodic Staff breakfasts with coffee and other goodies. The school family is a close knit one which puts the needs and desires of the children first.

Benton Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
My children ages 7 and 9 started school here. I have been active as a volunteer in their classes as often as my schedule allows. Their teachers really do appreciate the help and my children like that I am involved. Benton Elementary is a wonderful school with a well rounded program. I would not want my children to go to any other school.

Benton Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
This is the first year that my children grades 3 and 4 have attended the school. So far I really like the way the school runs compared to the other schools they have gone to. The teacher there take time with a student as well as the whole class. The teacher review their charts to see what individual help they may need and make sure that they receive it. I will have my children in the school until they are at the last year.

Nearby schools

Benton Elementary School
68 School Dr, Benton, ME  04901
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (207) 453-4240
Last modified Benton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top