Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crescent Park School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2013

Crescent Park School is a wonderful place for kids to learn and grow. The teachers are amazing and truly love their students. I am very happy and relieved that my granddaughter goes there. She is in the fifth grade with a truly gifted teacher who cares so much about the kids around all aspects of their beings. CPS is an exemplary school and deserves to be acknowledged.


Posted November 7, 2011

My daughter is in the 3rd grade, and the teacher that she has will pass out homework, with no explaination on what has to be done, it goes on the basis, that she already know this...I'm sure that isn't how teachers do their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Excellent triangular communication among teachers, parents and with the students. Many varied after school programs promoting physical activity, team involvement and leadership. The community's involvement with the schools promotes student's awareness of the historical beginnings of the community and establishes the need for current and futu.re involvement of the student.th the community


Posted April 13, 2010

Great school with great staff! Offering alot more to students then any other school I have attended or heard of. Wouldn't consider any other school for my children. The class sizes are half what mine were when I attended school, which helps so much. Working with the kids through the years volunteering, I can not believe how well they all get along. Never have I seen a child feel left out or picked on. The parents as well as the staff make this a great place for kids to thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

This is an excellent, small school in a tight-knit community. We are a military family and our only child is in first grade with Mrs. DeCarolis. Our daughter went to school in Virginia last year and had a rough year. This year has more than made up for it even though her daddy is deployed to Iraq. I can't say enough good things about this school! A+ ;o)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

My son loves this school because the events thst happens and he loves field trips and he loves Library.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

I cannot say enough about this school. My son transferred to Crescent Park halfway through the 4th grade and is now in 5th. The staff, teachers and overall experience has been more than I ever could have hoped it would be.we are moving out of state next year and the one thing that I will regret is that my youngest will not get to experience this school.It is by and large the best this area has to offer.Thank you Crescent Park for making this such a wonderful experience for my child. I could never thank you enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

The quality of the education the kids are recieving has gone down over the years. The Stats have fallen so I am not sure who is at fault. I do know that with the No Child Left Behind, that the kids that are struggling are getting left behind due to the pace that the teachers need to teach at. Administration has changed and in turn the kids disipline structure has changed. There is definitly a problem with bullying in this school which is not being addressed. The school does offer alot of after school activities for the 4th and 5th graders but nothing for the younger grades. Parent involvement is slightly above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 69% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math and in grades 5 and 8 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maine used the Maine Educational Assessment (MEA) to test students in grades 5 and 8 in science. The MEA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maine. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Maine Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 92%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 2%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19 Crescent Ln
Bethel, ME 04217
Phone: (207) 824-2839

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Woodstock School
Bryant Pond, ME


Legion Memorial School
West Paris, ME



Agnes Gray School
West Paris, ME



Holy Savior School
Rumford, ME


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT